Health news

Rain 007-A

A corner of my living room.

David saw his orthopedist regarding his left knee the other day.  He is going to receive three weekly Euflexa injections on it, starting Thursday.  This will alleviate the pain, but is not a permanent solution.  He hopes to have surgery soon.  Meanwhile, David went to City Hall and received a handicap permit, which will allow him to park his car in handicap stalls.  Arthritis is not fun.

Someone at the gym has been seeing a nutritionist.  He was told to avoid Atlantic salmon fillets, sold at Costco, because this type of salmon has been fed hormones to grow bigger.  Sockeye salmon is better for you, because it has been caught in the wild.  However, it is much more expensive.

There was a recent article in the newspaper about arsenic, which is poisonous, appearing naturally in the earth where vegetables are grown.  Did you know that brown rice has a lot of arsenic, whereas white rice has none?  The brown hulls absorb arsenic from the earth, and that’s what we eat when we consume brown rice.  White rice has been stripped of these hulls.

I also read that sausage, bacon and other cured meats, containing nitrites, cause cancer.  My father ate a hot dog every day for lunch.  Is that why he died from colon cancer?

If you question the validity of these assertions, do google for more information.  I don’t pretend to be a scientist, physician, or nutritionist.

15 Responses to “Health news”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    Sorry, Gigi, I have visions of Costco staff swimming half way across the Atlantic ocean to feed the salmon hormones! 😆

    A good mixed diet of home cooked food, is how I was trained and still live. I know plenty of women in my position (widows living alone) who don’t bother to cook proper meals for themselves and they are full of aches, pains, moans and grumbles.

    I am not without pain, but I do all my own shopping, cooking and eat well, maybe that is why I enjoy life so much and think that laughter is the best dessert of any day.

  2. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I think you are spot on with these claims. As for arsenic..in small doses it won’t hurt you. I’m seeing my osteopath Friday and will receive a shot of something or other. Will ask him about the Euflexit. I’ve had knee surgery on this knee and when the shots don’t work anymore it will be time for a joint replacement.

  3. denise Says:

    Interesting! If a doctor suggests this then I won ‘t be buying the Atlantic Salmon. I have only just begun to buy brown rice instead of the white. I eat a lot of fresh vegetables and when I can buy organic I will. I find the higher prices annoying though. At a recent ‘green’ supermarket the tomatoes were over $6 a lb. I refused to buy them. I will try growing my own this year. I will probably be sharing with the squirrels!

  4. granny annie Says:

    I need somebody to tell me what I CAN eat. Leave out the don’t and just list the do’s.

  5. Joanne Says:

    i sympathize with David. My knees are shot; I have an appointment Friday with my doctor to discuss options.

  6. Olga Says:

    I have heard stories of so many bum knees lately. It must be quite a trial. I try to maintain a healthy diet and cook for myself like Grannymar. I avoid precessed foods and go for the fresh vegetables and grains mostly. I do have to confess that lately I have been craving a juicy burger–beef, not turkey or lentil, real beef. Maybe I will give in or maybe it will go away.

  7. Tom Sightings Says:

    My sister has had 2 knee replacements, and now she walks her dog every day, takes long hikes, even climbs up and down mountains. But … no guarantees. Oh geez, I LIKE Costco’s salmon. What am I gonna do?

  8. DJan Says:

    I learned that about Costco salmon a while back and won’t eat it. Of course, I live where fresh caught wild salmon is easy to come by. I mostly prefer Alaska sockeye myself. I have some knee problems but not enough to keep me from exercising. I hope David’s will improve from the treatment.

  9. Jeanie Says:

    It is hard to know what is okay to eat these days. I haven’t bought the salmon at Costco but I do eat a lot of brown rice.
    I hope David can get some relief from his knee pain.

  10. R. J. Says:

    Good info. I had not heard about the difference between the brown and white rice. I prefer the taste of white rice when served with various dishes. I had heard about the salmon issue and I can find Alaska salmon on the east coast. Processed meats seem to have a bad reputation so I try to avoid those. So many things to avoid, it makes me dizzy.

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    I believe in moderation. Eat what you want, moderately. Like NOT a hot dog every day, just maybe a couple a month when you go to the stadium. We do eat Costco Salmon. Atlantic salmon has a well balanced oil content and I actually prefer it to some more expensive wild caught. But then we don’t eat it all the time either.
    I have a pet peeve about food and supplement scares. Most supplements are worthless, but there is a whole industry based on them that wants you to think you need them. Same with “nutritionists”, who want you to pay them to tell you how to eat. As others have stated, use fresh ingredients, do your own cooking, and eat what you want, moderately.

  12. LC Says:

    Moderation and using the least processed foods possible is our strategy. That and asking God’s blessing before every meal. Reports change the dire do’s and don’ts so often, rarely with any information that allows one to intelligently assess the validity of the claims.

  13. Christine Says:

    thanks for the great food advice, I agree with all of them! I didn’t know about the Altantic salmon at Costco. Good luck to David with all his treatment.

  14. beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Gigi, as we do eat brown rice over white rice and more often wild rice, the thought that these so0called healthier rices could be helpful is not good. We do our own cooking when at home and try to not add prepackaged mixes to our menus. However, when we’re on a road trip, we are not so good…but do try. Hope David’s treatment goes well. A friend of mine had some sort of gel shots which seemed to ease her knee pain somewhat.

Leave a Reply

