Gout?

Rain 002-A

Hawaii.  This tall palm tree in front of my house was planted as a small shrub in 1991.  The house across the street is now a care home for elderly patients.

David has been complaining about the excruciating pain in his left knee.  When his orthopedist injected Euflexxa into my husband’s knee (for arthritis) on Thursday, he noticed liquid flowing out of the injection site.  The doctor said it looked like gout.  Gout has multiple causes, including heredity and diet (pork, shellfish, and alcohol).  The thought of giving up beer depressed David, because he loves alcohol.

The orthopedist sent five vials of David’s blood plus a sample of synovial fluid from his knee to the lab.  Result?  No gout.  Halleluia.  But, he does have osteoarthritis.  It remains to be seen what the orthopedist does to the knee next Wednesday.

After two more Euflexxa injections in March, David will see an orthopedic surgeon in July and hopes to have knee replacement surgery shortly thereafter.  Meanwhile, David has been walking with a cane and also parks in handicapped stalls.

I just hope my husband does not end up bedridden like his mother.  She had three replacement surgeries on her right knee and after the third surgery failed, she was confined to a nursing home for the last eight years of her life.  What a sad memory.

On the other hand, maybe surgical techniques have improved since 1993, the year of her third and last disastrous surgery.

15 Responses to “Gout?”

  1. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    I can understand your concern about David’s knee issues as I had an uncle who was diagnosed with gout, a term not all that familiar to me before then. It did not seem to keep him from getting around, so hopefully this will be true for your husband as well.

  2. Olga Says:

    Oh, Gigi, that is scary to think about, but as you said, medicine advances so quickly that past experiences don’t necessarily predict future outcomes. There is reason to keep a positive attitude. Living with that kind of pain cannot be very pleasant. I give David credit for continusing to be out and about.

  3. Christine Says:

    I have heard of people with very successful knee surgeries. I think it is a very common surgery these days. Best wishes to David.

  4. anyone4curryandotherthings Says:

    Gigi, so sorry about your husbands knee and pain – but as you said, medicine advances have improved sind 1993 – just dont give up to sad depressing thoughts, often this makes matters only worse. Good luck, Carina

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    Knee surgery takes a lot of work to recover from but is usually quite successful.

  6. Joanne Says:

    Keep us apprised of David’s knee journey. I am on the same trip, and interested in other adventures.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    A miserable disease! I am on the same trajectory with my knee as David. I have known for some time I would need the replacement surgery, but wanted to 1/ take care of my hip (had replacement surgery almost six months ago); and 2/ take are of my teeth. There’s always something after another as we age. You have had a few things go wrong too. I recall the hernia operation last year. The home across your road looks inviting,

  8. Jeanie Says:

    I know a couple of people who have had very successful knee replacement surgery and they both thought that part of the success was due to closely following the post-surgery rehab plan.
    Good that David doesn’t have gout.

  9. DJan Says:

    I do hope that David’s doctor will discover what is causing that pain and be able to treat it. Good he doesn’t have gout, but what is it, I wonder? Sending you lots of virtual hugs, David! 🙂

  10. Suzanne Says:

    Good luck! Medicine has made tremendous improvements. I know someone who had both knees done and she is doing great.

  11. LC Says:

    Pain can be so limiting. I recognized that aging brought unexpected change on my 45th birthday. I was driving and suddenly felt something like a pebble in my mouth.
    The top half of a bottom front tooth had crumbled off.
    I worried that something else would fall off every birthday.

    I have had other challenges, but I am thankful nothing else has fallen off. Shifted, though. Keeping David and you in my thoughts.

  12. Grannymar Says:

    Hope it is not too long before David’s knee is sorted out. This getting older is not for cissy’s.

  13. Denise Says:

    I do hope something can be done for David. I hope the knee surgery is a success.

  14. granny annie Says:

    People who have the knee surgery swear by it as life saving. If David has it, I am sure it will greatly enhance his ability to walk and make his life and yours better.

Leave a Reply

