Way to go!

mom 98 birthday 001-A

Pretty orchids at Kahala Nui, a retirement home in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Good news is that all of my lab scores are in the normal range, with the exception of my LDL, which is slightly elevated.  Moreover, I am definitely not pre-diabetic, whereas poor David is.  Man, we couldn’t believe his Hemoglobin A1C score, which was 6.1.  Patients with a score of 6.5 are considered diabetic, so David really has to work hard to get that score down.  My score, on the other hand, was 5.5.  It’s hard to believe that I got such a low score, especially since I am heavy.

So what am I doing to lose weight?  Well, I switched to a different medication in November and have lost 9 lbs since then.  My previous medication led to significant weight gain, which was the expected side-effect of that drug.  I am also sleeping better.  The other night I went to bed at 7:30 pm and woke up at 4:00 am the next morning.  It’s amazing what a good night’s sleep can do to one’s mood and energy level.

David and I have decided to entertain our guests at my sister’s restaurant, instead of entertaining at our home.  My gastroenterologist advised me to eat more vegetables, so what better way than to dine at Sylvia’s vegan restaurant?  I will be following my doctor’s advice, treating our guests to something different, and putting money into Sylvia’s pocket.  It’s a win-win situation.  Our first guests will be Aunty Marilyn and Uncle Harold on March 15.  They will park their car in front of our house, and then David will drive the four of us to Greens and Vines Restaurant.  I just love to talk with people over a nicely prepared meal.

Way to go!

18 Responses to “Way to go!”

  1. Snoskred Says:

    The fabulous Pomai over at Around Hawaii (and more often The Tasty Island) reviewed Greens & Vines just the other day. 🙂 I meant to pop over and mention it but I got distracted with other things, this post reminded me. 🙂

    http://www.aroundhawaii.com/lifestyle/food/2014-03-greens–vines-no-heat-just-eat-licious-dishes.html

    How unusual, the Zucchini Unagi. And that salad dressing sounds incredible. I brought back a bunch of salad dressings from Hawaii last trip, would love to have included this one. When you go would love to see pics! 🙂

  2. Christine Says:

    Great news about your health scores Gigi, my husband is also pre diabetic but loves his dessert. He just has very small portions.

  3. Christine Says:

    Beautiful orchid photo by the way.

  4. Jeanie Says:

    Good job on your health scores, Gigi. I know you are pleased.
    I’m sure your guests will love the meal at your sister’s restaurant.

  5. Joanne Says:

    I love to be in gatherings and listen to people talk.

  6. DJan Says:

    Congratulations on your A1C score, Gigi. You are doing something right, obviously. I do hope David is able to get his score down. I love your pretty orchid picture. 🙂

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Sounds like an excellent idea…eating more veggies someone else prepared. My David has the same issues with the A-1C. And my David is thin and underweight. Technically,I should be the one with the prediabetes issues as all my dad’s relatives seem to have developed the disease. However, perhaps I got my Mom’s genes.

  8. Olga Says:

    You have all the bases covered with that entertaining plan. And I am sure the food is delicious at your sister’s place.

  9. Denise Says:

    I sometimes forget to mention how pretty your photos are, so I thought I would say that first.

    Congratulations on such a good report on your health. I hope David can do the same next time. Eating veggies is a great idea. I am trying to put less meat into our daily regime and more vegetarian meals. I have been looking at a lot of tofu and bean dishes lately, with lots of veggies and low in fat. Great idea going to your sister’s restaurant.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    I followed the link in the comment to the review of your sister’s restaurant. That is some very fancy, meticulously prepared food. I don’t think it’s how I want to eat, but it is very beautiful.

  11. Musings Says:

    Good for you! You’re lucky to have such good genes and scores. Diet and exercise are the remedies for the A1c, I’m afraid. I’m fighting it all the time.

  12. granny annie Says:

    9 pounds lost since November! Wow, good job. I have lost only 4 since December.

  13. LC Says:

    Bravo on your AIC, weight loss and “healthy” entertainment strategy. Best wishes to David. I am relatively thin but struggling with the sugar levels, too. It doesn’t help that my husband and I have recently had lots of visiting and celebrating with family and friends which always involves food that I have a hard time eating in moderation. Hope David does better than I have been doing.

  14. mageb Says:

    Brilliant idea. Bravo. And you both will continue to lose weight while your guests will be happy and your sister richer. 🙂

  15. Linda Starr Says:

    lovely flowers,what a plan to have vegan meals, I make a point to have a vegetable soup once a week which since I make a big batch we eat it for several days, my Gary lowered his cholesterol by eating oatmeal with cinnamon and taking a plant derivative called cholestoff, we are hoping to loose some weight living here because we have stairs to climb every day.

  16. Cathy Says:

    I definitely agree with you on the benifits of a good nights sleep. Our meals are not too bad – it’s the exercise part of weight loss that needs attending to – and that comes more easily after a good nights sleep lol
    It’s good to know you are now on medication that doesn’t affect you that way. Are there any side effects to the one you are now on?
    Take care
    Cathy

  17. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Losing weight is such an uphill battle with us as well. We don’t eat at fast food places, ever, and we do enjoy cooking. We figure we must enjoy our own cooking a bit too much. I also have to monitor my HA1c ratings, so know how that goes. Our next checkup is next week and we hope the only bad news is a few lbs.

Leave a Reply

