High Tea at the Waioli Tea Room

I hosted my first High Tea at the Waioli Tea Room in Manoa, a suburb of Honolulu, Hawaii:

High Tea Waioli 003-A

My sister in law Pat, my sister Nedra, and I were present.  Unfortunately, my other sister Sylvia could not make it:

High Tea Waioli 020-A

This was the lovely table setting and some of the beautiful teapots, cups, and plates:

High Tea Waioli 009-A

High Tea Waioli 012-A

High Tea Waioli 015-A

High Tea Waioli 016-A

High Tea Waioli 017-A

High Tea Waioli 018-A

This is the cart, offering 15 varieties of Harney & Sons fine teas.  Pat chose Raspberry Tea, Nedra Darjeeling Tea, and I Hot Cinnamon Tea.  We all shared each other’s teas.  I enjoyed the Hot Cinnamon Tea so much that I purchased ten extra tea bags to take home:

High Tea Waioli 019-A

We were served three pyramids, containing finger sandwiches, scones, tea cakes, bread, cheese, nuts, fruits, and brownies.  There also was a plate of sachets for our drawers:

High Tea Waioli 022-A

High Tea Waioli 023-A

High Tea Waioli 025-A

We had such a wonderful time and enjoyed ourselves immensely.  Now I know what High Tea is like.

12 Responses to “High Tea at the Waioli Tea Room”

  1. Christine Says:

    Very fancy indeed, what a fun lunch! That’s a lot of food too!

  2. Tom Sightings Says:

    Mmmm, looks good. I like the china and the tea … but I like the pastries better! (I like your hat, too.)

  3. DJan Says:

    Nice! Good pictures, too, Gigi. I have never been to a High Tea, except vicariously, like now. 🙂

  4. granny annie Says:

    That looks lovely but I fear I would be like a bull in a china shop. Something would get broken if I attended. Too bad your other sister could not join you.

  5. Olga Says:

    this is a delightful post. Everything looks lovely/scrumptious.

  6. Grannymar Says:

    What a lovely variety of China to use. Pity the tablecloth was so overpowering and almost swallowed up or distracted from the the china. In the UK and Ireland, they use white or very pale coloured linen so as not to distract from the china or goodies to tempt the taste buds.

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    The high teas I have attended, or put on, are quite a bit like this, but not with all of the tropical fruit. I do love high tea!

  8. Denise Says:

    This looks like a delightful experience, and everything looked very pretty. I haven’t had a high tea in a long time. I have been to hotels with friends where they offer them. The last time I did a high tea was at my home when I invited my British friends here for lunch. I enjoyed the photos of you ladies enjoying yourselves.

  9. Beatrice Says:

    This looks all very British – love it. Only the table cloth does not match the fine cups and plates….
    😉 Beatrice

  10. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    A beautiful tea, and so very British!

  11. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    And the tablecloth with red hibiscus is a great Hawaiian accent!

  12. dkzody Says:

    What a lovely event. Sounds like you had a very good time, too, with your friends. I see a whole star fruit sliced there on one of the trays. That alone would have made me happy.

Leave a Reply

