Comfortable in my own skin

High Tea Waioli 002-A

Grounds of Waioli Tea Room in Manoa, Hawaii.

Pat told me that a friend of hers has been obese for a long time, but is not diabetic.  Puzzled, Pat discussed this with her doctor.  He said that diabetics send sugar to their blood stream, whereas non-diabetics convert sugar into fat.  That explains why not all obese people are diabetic, and why not all diabetics are obese.

I am so tired of people telling me I am fat and need to lose weight.  They say your friend is slim and beautiful; why don’t you try to look like her?  Hello, I am still married, but that woman is not.  Many men divorce their slim wives.  Yet, you often see obese women holding hands with their mates.  What’s up with that?

It seems to me that life would be boring if everyone looked alike.  I happen to be comfortable in my own skin.  I absolutely refuse to color my hair, undergo plastic surgery, or try liposuction just to please other people.  Why bother?  If you don’t like the way I look, stay out of my life.

Bottom line:  I am not diabetic, and I am a happy wife, mother, and grandmother.  How many women can say that about themselves?

12 Responses to “Comfortable in my own skin”

  1. Christine Says:

    I think of the Oscars and all those older actresses with the facelifts. They should allow themselves to age beautifully! But I do colour my hair as I have a lot of grey hair, you are lucky that you don’t have a lot of grey.

  2. Snoskred Says:

    I can agree with the latter two, but I am absolutely all for colouring ones hair to please ones self, not to please others. 🙂

    People sometimes say the rudest things to others and inside themselves they justify it by thinking that in saying it they are showing they care about that person. I often find a simple “I’m happy with my current weight, thanks” is enough to shut them up. If not, then a “When I need your advice, I will ask for it, until then please consider my weight as a closed subject for discussion”

    This is of course more difficult if they are family. I might say a simple “My doctor and I are managing this together, thanks for your concern but it is not necessary”.

    I remember my Nanna telling me when I was a teenager she would give me $20 if I lost weight. I did lose weight, never did see the $20. Probably a good thing, I would have spent it on hot chips on the walk home from school. 😉

    There does come a point at which being overweight affects one in an unacceptable way. I’ve been there a couple of times in my lifetime, and I will try not to get back there again. I can’t guarantee I won’t go there, but I will try my best not to. That place where you can’t walk up a hill without stopping a lot of times or feeling like you can’t breathe, that place where your knees and ankles ache after a day of being on your feet. But guess what, that is totally up to me to handle and manage, and anyone else sticking their nose in will be told to stick it in their own business instead. 🙂

  3. Olga Says:

    Good for you! You are obviously content with life and your place in it. That comes through in so many of your posts. Self acceptance is a gift we can give to ourselves. And to those around us.

  4. granny annie Says:

    What did you mean by, you are still married and she is not? What does that have to do with weight? A lot of my skinny friends are married. Ron and I were both heavy.

  5. Joanne Says:

    It is important to be content and you are a happy woman. End of story.

  6. DJan Says:

    You said it very well, Gigi. I think if you are comfortable in your own skin, as you said, then it isn’t anybody’s business but yours and your doctor’s. And you said your numbers are all good, right? That’s important to consider.

  7. Tom Sightings Says:

    If anyone (besides your doctor) tries to tell you that you’re fat and need to lose weight … they’re just being rude and obnoxious!

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    Weight can cause health problems. When it did for me, I did something about it. We have to be our own judges of what is best for us, and our own motivators if we seek to change.

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Our doc (the quack) told David to lose five ponds to deal with the rise in his sugar! David is skinny, as you know. I subscribe to several mags and health news letters concerned with diabetes. From what I read, there seems to be a link between diabetes and weight. I suggested to my doc that perhaps there is an antecedent variable that causes both.

    You are right. Not everyone who has diabetes is overweight. And vice versa. There may be a genetic thing affecting whether you get diabetes, but it’s not down to weight alone!

    I had the same attitude you had about weight loss, but changed my mind when it affected my heart and breathing. I feel much better now than I did after 25 pond loss. Still have 25 pounds to go. Need to do it for my joints.

  10. denise Says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more. If a person is healthy and happy, that is the most important thing.

Leave a Reply

