Life with hubby

High Tea Waioli 001-A

Hawaii.  Waioli Chapel, where David and I married in 1980.  Count the years!

Lately, David has been devoting much of his time to the NCAA basketball tournament on television.  He just loves his sports, something that interests me only peripherally.  Whenever he shouts, “Look at this shot!  I’ll replay it for you,” that’s the only time I’ll bother to stare at the screen.  Yup, that’s the extent of my involvement with sports.

Yesterday, we strolled through Target.  He used the shopping cart to support his weight, because his left knee still hurts (despite those three injections).  I am so glad I don’t have arthritis.

We looked at the sandals.  Nope, they didn’t fit my feet.

Then, we looked at patio furniture.  Nope, not good enough for our rental studio.  “I prefer a leather easy chair,” David said.  “It’s more comfortable.”

We bought a paint brush and two rollers to be used when we paint Maria’s room this week.

We meandered to the grocery section and purchased 20 Lean Cuisine frozen dinners, which were on sale for buy one, get the other one free.  We threw some other veggies into the cart.  Then, we went home and put everything away.

Now that David and I are both older, we rely on other people to help us.  For example, we pay landscapers to mow our lawn, pull weeds, prune trees, and trim the hedges once a month.  We hire RG, a former carpenter, to do odd jobs, such as take things to the dump, move furniture, and build sheds for us.  All of these people are gems.  What would we do without them?

This is our life these days.

15 Responses to “Life with hubby”

  1. granny annie Says:

    We have a young man in our area who does odd jobs for an extremely reasonable wage. The only problem is that he does not drive and you have to go pick him up and then take him back home. He is around 50 years old and I think he is a former alcoholic who probably had his drivers license taken away. Regardless he does wonderful work of any type and is valued in our community. We manage to keep his working close to 90% of the time.

  2. Christine Says:

    Beautiful wedding chapel, and thanks for the look at your life, interesting!

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I am very reliant on others.

    I can feel David’s pain. Not sure how well these shots work.. My friend BJ had the series twice before she had her remaining knee joint replaced. She said the first time the shots worked for about one year. The second time she suffered paralysis. It eventually went away and she had the surgery. She’s had both knees done now.

    I think her paralysis resulted from an allergic reaction. The injections she had were made from cock’s combs. Today, I and David ? had shots of a synthetic (lab made) substance. Much safer, but might not be as effective. ~D

  4. DJan Says:

    I enjoyed that peek into your day with David. He is still very active for someone in so much pain, and he manages quite well, I’d say. Thank you for the sweet comment you left on my blog yesterday. It was one of those that made my day. 🙂

  5. Olga Says:

    I am amazed at how David keeps going in spite of pain. Yes, there comes a time…Mike was very self-sufficient and I am stubbornly independent. Now I am struggling with having to ask for outside help. I tell myself it is a good thing to support others in their quest to earn a living.

  6. Jeanie Says:

    I also feel very fortunate to have help with yard work and house cleaning and to have an on-call handy man.
    I sure hope David can get a positive resolution to his knee pain soon.

  7. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    While we did a lot of the renovations on this old home when we bought it over 10 years ago, we cannot do all that now. So, we do the lawn cutting and some outdoor work and other small projects. We know when we have to hire others to do the harder work. So with age also comes wisdom. Good luck with the Lean Cuisine eating plan as we too are working on weight loss.

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    We are hiring out a few more jobs as we go along too, although we are still doing most things ourselves. We are contemplating a time when we will have to give up this high maintenance yard and move to a smaller, easier place. But we’re not there yet.

  9. Suzanne Says:

    It is great you have people to help you guys out. Congrats to such a wonderful long marriage.

  10. Denise Says:

    You two have a wonderful life together. That is a beautiful church you got married in. I’m sorry to hear David’s knees are giving him problems. Arthritis is a dreadful compalint. We have a gentleman and his crew who mow our yard and he will be coming soon to do a spring clean up. We needed the extra help to do general tidying up, tree trimming and so on, and to get rid of the poisin ivy that ran rampant in our back yard among the trees. It had taken over before we realized it was there. The yard looked great afterwards and we decided to hire him permanently.

  11. Cathy Says:

    Thirty odd years – sounds like you have bonded and work like a team. Each an individual in their own right yet accepting help and guidance from each other to achieve a goal.
    Here’s to another 30 years together!
    Take care
    Cathy

  12. Grannymar Says:

    Thirty odd years – you are both very fortunate, we had twenty before cancer stole my soul mate. Live in the ‘now’ each day, fand make the most of each moment.

  13. mageb Says:

    Everything sounds good to me but David’s knee. I so hope the shots begin working soon. 🙂

  14. LC Says:

    Still finding ways to do things together in spite of David’s pain. My husband has finally begun to search out the “gem” to help us. Hope the shots begin to help David’s knee.

  15. marmeladegypsy Says:

    You remind me that it’s time for a Target visit. It’s not in my path but when you have to go, you have to go! I’m so sorry David is still having pain from his surgery. I hope things can resolve sooner rather than later.

    I’m into the NCAA too — my alma mater and former employer, Michigan State, is hanging in there so far!

Leave a Reply

