Manoa Valley

High Tea Waioli 008-A

Hawaii. Another view of Waioli Chapel in Manoa Valley.

Note the beautiful trees and foliage in this photo, which was taken on March 11. I was raised in Manoa and lived down the street from this chapel. Yes, Manoa is gorgeous because of the lush greenery.

However, the air there affects residents in different ways. My brother and I developed an allergy that made it difficult for us to breathe, especially at night. He was constantly blowing his nose, and my sinus was always clogged. It was only when I moved away that I was able to sleep well at night. I attribute my allergy to the damp air full of mold and mildew. Yes, everything grows well in Manoa, including mold and mildew.

On the other hand, the damp air had no adverse effect on my parents and the rest of my siblings. Go figger.

Manoa is considered a desirable area to live, and homes there fetch a higher price than homes in Foster Village, where I now reside with my husband.

With the help of an architect, my father designed his house in Manoa to his own specifications. There are three bedrooms and one bathroom, a large eat-in kitchen, and spacious living room in the main house, and a studio with bathroom next to the garage. I wonder how much this property will sell for when my 98 year old mother dies. Will someone buy the house and then replace it with a new house?

As beautiful and lush as Manoa is, I have no desire to live there again. I prefer Foster Village, where I can breathe without impediment.

22 Responses to “Manoa Valley”

  1. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Interesting to read your comment about your former neighborhood, Gigi. I have no interest in ever returning to my childhood neighborhood or home state, but not because of any allergies.

  2. Christine Says:

    My daughter would be affected with allergies and sinus probs in Manoa.

  3. Denise Says:

    Another lovely photo of the church and its lush greenery. Allergies are a dreadful thing to have to deal with. I don’t have them but I know of people who suffer dreadfully with the onset of Sprng. A show Gregg and I have been watching lately is people who are looking for homes in Hawaii. A local real estate agent shows them three places and they put a bid on their favorite. Love that show!

  4. DJan Says:

    I suffer from allergies here in the Pacific Northwest where everything grows, including molds and moss. But it’s only in the spring and fall and I take meds to keep it in check. I know what you mean about not being able to breathe well, though, when allergies attack. Glad you have a place to live that agrees with you. 🙂

  5. Olga Says:

    Yes, being able to breathe is a distinct advantage! It does look like a beautiful area, though.

  6. Jeanie Says:

    It is nice that you can visit the beautiful area where you grew up but I am glad you are living in a place that is so much better for your breathing.

  7. granny annie Says:

    My allergies are terrible here but you couldn’t pay me to leave:) Thank goodness for medicine.

  8. Christine Says:

    Gigi, here are the Creative Tuesdays guidelines, you can even do sewing stuff…anyone can join! http://creativetuesdays.blogspot.ca/p/guidelines-faqs.html

  9. Joanne Says:

    I cannot tolerate mold and once quit a job because the mold was making me sick. No one else could even smell it. Incomprehensible.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    My nose is running as I read this post. In the last few years I have developed an allergy to tree pollen, especially the cedar and juniper and perhaps alder that surround our house. Despite the rain, the tree pollen is heavy in the air right now. But it is just an inconvenience, not severe enough to be a health impact.

  11. Henri Chapin Says:

    I’ve lived in Manoa for almost 15 years. I notice I have the sniffles a lot. Sometimes I sit on the lanai and get stuffed up. But I also sleep like a top. I’ve had to have mildew removed from the house twice. But there’s no chance I’ll be leaving. It just would be totally inconvenient and upset my whole life, so It wouldn’t be worth it. Besides, I think vog creates a lot of our respiratory issues in Hawaii.

  12. Henri Chapin Says:

    Oh yes, the Waioli Tea Room, right near where the marriage chapel is, is one of my favoritep laces to take people to lunch along with the Art Museum.

  13. Grannymar Says:

    O would have loved to design a house of my own, but the home I have is very comfortable and fulfils all my needs adequately.

  14. Cathy Says:

    By the sound of it nothing has changed in the area you knew as a child – so much has changed in the place where I grew up you wouldn’t know it as the same place. We left there in 1954 and have never been back but I look at the streets via Mr Goo.gle now and again,
    There are places in the Far North of Australia that are troubled by high humidity and mould at certain times of the year (wet season) but this isn’t a year round problem.

  15. Linda Starr Says:

    I lived so many places as a child I would be hard pressed to choose one but actually none of them would be my choice except maybe Cuba. Love the views of the chapel, I never considered the mold in Hawaii but it stands to reason, must mention to my Gary as he has been thinking about Hawaii since we moved here it’s been so cold.

  16. Linda Reeder Says:

    Glenda, I don’t see any email link on your blog site, so I will respond via comment. I’m sorry to hear that my photos are not getting to you. I do send them in extra large size, via high speed Comcast cable internet. I have not hear of others no getting all the photos, but perhaps it is the case. I’ll have to inquire.
    The only reason I can think of is that the photo size and quantity are overwhelming your computer or internet hook up. I don’t know what kind of service you have or the age of your equipment, but that might be it.
    Anyway, thanks for putting up with blank photos and not giving up on me.
    Linda R

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I use Road Runner internet service via high speed cable, but perhaps it is the large size and quantity of your photos that prevent me from viewing them all. Sometimes, the screen freezes and I have to log off and reboot.

  17. Karen Says:

    Aloha- two comments- first, in response to your question re: your mom’s house…yes, it will probably be torn down and a new one built, or undergo extensive renovation (like adding a second bathroom to the house), as Manoa is such a desirable place to live. The added studio is definitely a plus! I love the older Manoa homes and wish people would strive for renovation instead of tear down, but bottom line is often cost.
    Also, and totally unrelated, did you see the Midweek article about the upcoming “high-end” job fair in April? Thought of your hubby. The article is online, at the Star Advertiser website- to the right, about midway down the page, where the paper highlights two Midweek articles. Hope this is helpful.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I’ll show that issue of MidWeek to David; I think we still have it. Part of the problem is that he anticipates knee replacement surgery in July or August, so that complicates things for him.

  18. Tom Sightings Says:

    Everyone has their own idiosyncrasies. I remember visiting Denver a few years ago, and then continuing up in the mountains to about 11,000 feet. Everyone marveled at the clean, crisp air. But Me? I was choking from lack of oxygen. I remember getting off the plane back at Newark airport in NJ. The air was heavy and wet and dirty. Ahhh . . . I finally could breathe.

  19. LC Says:

    Glad you live where the breathing is easy for you. When my family moved to a new home with central heat and AC, it was not long before I started waking up with a scratchy throat every morning.

    My mother began giving me hot tea as soon as I would get up. By the time I finished getting ready for the day, the throat would be better. But I have had sinus issues ever since, although not the scratchy throat. The hot tea became a lifelong habit, although for enjoyment not to ease an achy throat.

  20. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Air quality and allergies certainly make a difference and I’m glad you have a spot that works well for you. I, too, deal with breathing issues. I suppose Michigan is as good as anywhere for me — I seem to coexist as well as possible. But when all the trees burst, it’s a little rougher!

Leave a Reply

