Renew season tickets?

High Tea Waioli 007-A

Hawaii. Waioli, Manoa Valley.

This afternoon, David and I will be attending two productions at the Blaisdell Concert Hall: “Carmina Burana” and “Pagliacci.” I don’t recall ever seeing or hearing either one, so I am looking forward to having a good time.

As I hate to drive home at night, because the lights disorient me, David said he would drive. Fortunately, his right knee is fine and he can press on the pedals in his car without pain.

It is his left knee that concerns me. As you know, we have season tickets in the nose bleed section of the balcony (the very last row at the top). My greatest fear is that his left knee will buckle while climbing the stairs, and he will fall and break his hip. Many seniors die from a broken hip, don’t ask me why.

Yup, I am paranoid.

I wish he would stay in his seat during intermission and rest his knee. Why can’t he wait until he gets home to use the bathroom or drink water? I can and do.

We have one more opera coming up in June, as well as five more symphony concerts during the spring season — all in the nose bleed section. After that, it is questionable as to whether or not we will renew our subscription to the opera and symphony.  It all depends on David’s arthritis and our budget.

18 Responses to “Renew season tickets?”

  1. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Gigi, I can understand your concern about the climb up to your seats and the effect on David’s knee. At one time, we bought subscription tickets to a series of music events here, but no longer do so as we did not like all the events in a subscription. Perhaps, you could consider selecting a couple you would enjoy and attend those separately and get seating lower down.

  2. granny annie Says:

    I may have shared this with you before but here is the quote I often think of in such times. “Worry is a prayer for something you don’t want.” Try to enjoy you evening out and know that David is going to do his own thing.

  3. Kay G. Says:

    We attended a Moody Blues concert at the Fox Theatre in Atlanta recently and I saw many people using canes. It was a good idea as there were several spots on the stairs that had no railings. . We saw one woman fall, she was okay, but I would say to David to be very careful and to walk much slower than you think you have to. xx

  4. DJan Says:

    I can relate, as it’s my left knee that gives me trouble, too. I would not renew, if it were me, as I know that stairs are some of the hardest things to navigate. I use trekking poles when I’m hiking and could not function without them on the downhill sections. I don’t get to use those when I’m walking around town, though. I think a cane is in my future. 🙂

  5. Olga Says:

    I find it so hard to accept the betrayal of our bodies. My 45 year old son and my 50 year old step-daughter are both experiencing physical malfunctions and step-daughter is looking at a total knee replacement this summer so i am extremely grateful for my mobility. Nothing can make one feel old like realizing one’s children are aging.
    There should be accommodations for those with physical challenges in public venues!! Although, that would not address the financial concerns. You will always have the memories of this shared passion and I am sure music will be a part of your life in some way.

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    I always use the hand rails when navigating steps now, even if I have to wait until the rail is free. Falling is not an option. On the other hand I’m not about to have a physical blip stop me from doing what I really want to do yet. I know there will be a time that i will no longer go to the stadium, or march to the match, or crawls around on the ground to garden, but I intend to keep going as long as I can.
    You need to decide if this is your passion before giving it up.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    If you have a good sound system you can listen to the Met on Saturday afternoons. David does. Not the same as the real thing,but if you spend the evening worrying about David, why waste money on expensive tickets.

  8. Christine Says:

    enjoy your operas, try not to worry too much, I am the same though. Interesting it’s the non driving knee that bothers him. Maybe the other knee got all the exercise from driving. They say exercise is beneficial for arthritis when you are not in pain.

  9. palolo Says:

    Did David get a handicapped card from his doctor? Better parking and less walking.

  10. Grannymar Says:

    As we age, we need to accept the need to compromise. I would rather have a husband to stay home with, than a season of concert tickets. Tickets are cold comfort when left alone.without a partner.

  11. Denise Says:

    From what you say it doesn’t sound like they have elevators up to the top section? I know myself that I have had difficulty walking up stairs when recovering from ankle injuries and take an elevator whenever I can, but there are times when stairs are the only option.

  12. Tom Sightings Says:

    Well, I don’t know about David. But I find my knee begins to hurt when I have to sit in one position too long. I have to get up and stretch it out. So it might not be a bad idea for him to take a little walk at intermission, altho’ it might be better if he avoided the stairs. Maybe just stand up and stretch a little. ‘Course, if you have to go to the bathroom, you have to go to the bathroom!

  13. Henri Chapin Says:

    I’ll be there at the opera today. I believe Pagliacci has been put on here before.

  14. Suzanne Says:

    I understand your concern. Hip injuries are so scary.

  15. lee daren jeans Says:

    Hello there I am so thrilled I found your blog,
    I really found you by accident, while I was searching on Digg for
    something else, Anyhow I am here nnow aand would just
    like to say thanks for a incredible pkst and a all round entertaining blokg (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

Leave a Reply

