We’ll survive — in Hawaii, no less!

High Tea Waioli 006-A

Hawaii. Areca palm trees in Manoa Valley.

Now that David and I are retired, we have to stop spending money frivolously. Let me count the ways:

  • Don’t buy fast food or take-out meals. Eat the food we already have at home.
  • Don’t get into car accidents. Car repairs cost an arm and a leg.
  • Don’t get traffic tickets. That’s money down the drain.

Yup, the last two items are recent events and David’s fault. But, let’s not belabor the point, because it would be downright embarrassing and David doesn’t want to be embarrassed.  Enough said about the car accident and the traffic ticket.

Every morning, I ask David: “What are you going to buy today, and how much will it cost?”

The good thing about us is that we have no debt: no mortgage, no car loan, and no credit card debt. We want to keep it that way.

David has created a budget, which is a bare bones budget that does not include monetary donations, monetary gifts, and extraordinary medical and dental bills. We are concerned about the cost of David’s knee replacement surgery, hospital stay, and physical therapy this summer. How much will Medicare and HMSA Akamai Advantage cover?

Fortunately, we still have savings that we can dip into. And the rental income, starting in May or June, will definitely help us. This is in addition to our Social Security benefits and David’s profit sharing plan (stocks and mutual funds), which he intends to rollover into an IRA soon.

Life is an adventure. We’ll survive — in Hawaii, no less!

14 Responses to “We’ll survive — in Hawaii, no less!”

  1. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Life doesn’t sound too tough in your world. I hope David was not injured in the accident.

  2. DJan Says:

    I’m glad David is all right. I know you will not only survive, you’ll thrive! 🙂

  3. granny annie Says:

    I hope you can keep yourself in new Muumuus and hats:)

  4. Christine Says:

    Sorry to hear about the traffic ticket. Don’t worry Gigi, you will be fine.

  5. denise Says:

    I am glad David wasn’t injured. We are budgeting even more since Gregg retired.

  6. Jeanie Says:

    I think good planning is the key to a good retirement and it sounds like you have planned well.

  7. Olga Says:

    Yeah, I know all about those accidents and tickets–definitely not a fun way to spend my money. I am learning to really appreciate all the work that Mike put into our budget and generally handling our finances. This is not a task that comes naturally to me, but he was so organized it has made it a bit easier.

  8. Olga Says:

    One thing I should add–even though Mike handled the finances mostly, he always, always kept me informed of the hows and whys. That has been incredibly helpful.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    Good planning makes all the difference.

  10. LC Says:

    Keeping you and David in my thoughts and prayers about his knee job.

  11. Linda Starr Says:

    hope David is ok,

    whenever we’re driving together we always remind each other not to speed so we won’t get any traffic tickets because of the cost and also the potential for our insurance rates to go up, it’s a constant battle. We are thinking of joining a dinner group that rotates around to other folks homes, that way we get to go out but bring the food to the group, like a potluck, a good alternative to spending money going out to eat at restaurants. Also a good way to meet people from our area.

  12. marmeladegypsy Says:

    You will survive. But I especially like that part about avoiding accidents — a wise idea whether you are on a fixed income or not! Since I retired I find that for the most part, I am spending less. I have more time to cook at home and because I like to, that’s a plus. When we go out, it means more. I’m trying to use the art supplies I have instead of investing in more and really haven’t bought clothes except for the wedding. A warmer climate will help with leisure activity. Not quite so severe as I expected.

    Sending David healing wishes, too.

Leave a Reply

