Baked Veggies

I always enjoy seeing new recipes and adding my own twist to them in my kitchen. If you haven’t already done so, please click on Grannymar’s blog on my blogroll. A while ago, she had a nice recipe for baked vegetables that I changed to suit my taste.

These are my photos:

You can bake veggies without meat:

Baked veggies with chicken 001-A

Or with meat (in this case, chicken breasts):

Baked veggies with chicken 003-A

Here’s the recipe (feel free to use other types of vegetables):

INGREDIENTS:

Oil spray

1 white sweet onion, chopped

8 oz white mushrooms, sliced

1 green bell pepper, chopped

1 red bell pepper, chopped

2 chicken breasts, pre-cooked and chopped

1/3 cup balsamic vinegar

1/3 cup olive oil

Salt and black pepper, to taste

METHOD:

Preheat oven to 375 F.

Spray 9×13 inch pan with oil.

Layer fresh vegetables in the order listed above.

Top with pre-cooked chicken, chopped.

Mix balsamic vinegar with olive oil, and spoon over the veggies and meat.

Sprinkle with salt and black pepper.

Cover with aluminum foil.

Bake for 30 minutes.

Baked veggies with chicken 009-A

Uncover and enjoy!

11 Responses to “Baked Veggies”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    oh you and I are on the same wave length, I’ve been thinking about vegetables lately too, must try this sounds delicious

  2. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I would love to eat a dish of something you prepared. Looks good from here!

  3. DeniseinVA Says:

    Delicious! I love roasting veggies in the oven. Don’t seem to do it any other way these days.

  4. Christine Says:

    thanks for the recipe, it looks delicious!

  5. Grannymar Says:

    That looks very tasty, let me know when next you are serving it and I’ll come and join you!

  6. Suzanne Says:

    Wow! That looks good and doesn’t seem hard. I will have to try that one.

  7. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Looks so colorful and sounds healthy too which is not a bad combo. Also, we like all the ingredients and easy is always a good thing in our home.

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    I really like roasting root vegetables in the oven. It’s a good winter time side dish and it warms up the kitchen too.

  9. Jeanie Says:

    It looks like a good healthy meal and it is nice that it could be done using lots of different vegetables.

  10. LC Says:

    I bet the balsamic vinegar adds a delightful flavor. I’m sharing this with our cook, AKA Hubby. He does a similar baked veggie dish that I enjoy, but I would like to try your version.

  11. marmeladegypsy Says:

    I love my veggies! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

