Spring chicken or not?

I awoke at 3:15 a.m. and felt fine after six hours sleep. That’s all I need, really. I can go through the whole day without taking a nap, unlike David, who naps frequently. There’s nothing he can do, but live with the fact that he is no longer a spring chicken. Neither am I, for that matter.

Here are a few morning photos that cheered me up:

This plant now has six red anthuriums. The green one at the bottom is slowly dying. When it turns brown, I’ll snip it off with scissors. I water the plant twice a week in the kitchen sink:

morning shots 004-A

I drink five cups of Roy’s Kona Coffee Blend every morning. It’s great with skim milk and ice cubes:

morning shots 010-A

Here’s a shot of my new security alarm keypad. Can you tell which one is the alarm and which one is the a/c control panel? The other items came from Thailand, Hong Kong, India, and Taiwan – all places I have visited:

morning shots 003-A

David woke up later and made me a fantastic brunch:  A banana pancake, which was crispy on the edges and tender and tasty in the middle.  I scarfed it down with maple syrup.  Mahalo, hubby!  Spring chicken or not, you’re the best husband, ever!

10 Responses to “Spring chicken or not?”

  1. granny annie Says:

    I too am an early riser. That has been my habit since my children were born. The early morning hours belong to me:) I love your little stroll through your home and then to top it off with those pancakes is very sweet:)

  2. Olga Says:

    I wish I could get by on six hours of sleep. I don’t nap during the day though.
    You are lucky in love and you should definitely hang on to that guy.

  3. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Let David sleep as long as he wants to, Gigi, as long as he makes breakfast when he awakes!

  4. DJan Says:

    I need a full eight or nine hours of sleep to be rested. That banana pancake sounds really delicious. You are a lucky woman, Gigi! 🙂

  5. Christine Says:

    Your pancakes sound delicious, as does your iced coffee!

  6. Grannymar Says:

    Sis consecutive hours. I wish!

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    David knows the way to your heart. Love your anthurium.

  8. Tom Sightings Says:

    I’ve heard that you need less sleep when you get older. Alas, not the case with me. I used to sleep 6 1/2 hrs. when I was working. Now I need 7 1/2, or I feel lethargic all day long. I don’t nap though … except when I go to the movies.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    I would not know what to do with myself at 3:30 AM! I stay up late so my six or seven hours is at a more “reasonable” getting up time!

  10. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Your anthurium is gorgeous! I fear I don’t grow plants so well!

Leave a Reply

