Freak accident

High Tea Waioli 005-A

Hawaii: The lovely grounds in front of the Waioli Tea Room in Manoa Valley.

At least once a month, I like to socialize with a group of people either at a restaurant or in my home. In March, I hosted High Tea at the Waioli Tea Room for my sister and sister in law. Tonight, David and I are going to attend a dinner party at Dagon Burmese Restaurant to celebrate my niece’s graduation from nursing school. I am looking forward to tasting Burmese cuisine for the first time.

You might remember that I had planned on treating my aunt and uncle to lunch at my sister’s restaurant, Greens and Vines, which serves raw, gourmet vegan cuisine. We were all set to go, when a waiter called to say there had been a terrible accident early that morning at the Farmers Market, where my sister was setting up her booth. A truck had lurched forward and killed a 27 year old waitress, who worked at Greens and Vines. My sister decided to close her restaurant for the day, because everyone was traumatized by the tragedy. In fact, the truck had also struck my sister’s husband and narrowly missed running over his face when he fell backwards. He, too, was taken to the hospital in an ambulance. (He is fine, now.)

Awful. Who would have thought this sort of thing would happen? It makes me shudder. You just never know when you will die in a freak accident like this one.  We still plan to treat my aunt and uncle to lunch at my sister’s restaurant in the near future.

Tonight, we want to focus on celebrating my niece’s graduation from nursing school. Let’s all have a pleasant time and enjoy the camaraderie and Burmese cuisine at Dagon Restaurant. I hope to post pictures on Tuesday. Til then, aloha!

11 Responses to “Freak accident”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    At first glance, I read: “……. my niece’s graduation from nursery school.” I thought ‘Goodness, the celebrations start early in Hawaii!’ Re-reading I laughed at my mistake. Well done your niece.

  2. Christine Says:

    Oh that is terrible news about the waitress Gigi, and your brother-in-law must still be in shock being thrown like that.

  3. Olga Says:

    Such a slice of life–the good and the bad. I want to hear about the Burmese food. That is something that has not found its way to VT.

  4. DJan Says:

    How awful! I am sorry for the loss of life, but I’m also glad it wasn’t worse. A very traumatic accident, to say the least. So sad.

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    What a dreadful thing to happen, such a tragedy and right out of the blue like that. Poor, girl, her poor family and all of those who are affected by this very sad event. Enjoy your niece’s graduation, life goes on and we need to enjoy it to the fullest, each and every day. We just heard that a dear friend passed away today. Someone we have known for many a year. I always remember him giving me the same advice. He had a good life he told me and I am happy for that.

  6. Jeanie Says:

    A very sad story and a good reminder of how fragile life is.
    Enjoy the celebration for your niece tonight.

  7. Suzanne Says:

    I am sorry to hear about the waitress. That is so sad and so scary.

    Yeah to your niece for graduating nursing school.

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    You are right these freak things happen without warning. That’s why it’s good to live one day at a time.

  9. granny annie Says:

    No matter how many precautions we take to be safe, nothing can stop a sudden freak accident from occurring. There are no safeguards to be set in place for such a circumstance and it certainly reminds us of our vulnerability. So glad your loved ones are okay.

  10. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Life is precious and when an unexpected accident like this happens we are reminded of that. Also, it shows that no one has any control over an unexpected accident. Glad your famiky is safe, but feeling sadness for the young woman who died.

  11. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Oh my! How frightful. It is stories like this that confirm my conscious effort to live each day in joy and as much light, goodness and gratitude as I can, for one never knows it it is the last.

Leave a Reply

