What fun he had back then!

David bought these two clarinets (A and B-flat) in 1965, when he was in high school. They cost $300 each, and the case was around $50. He hopes to sell the whole shebang for $1,250. A music teacher said he knows a couple of students who want a clarinet, so maybe one of them can come up with the money:

clarinets-A and Bflat 001-A

clarinets-A and Bflat 002-A

Back in 1975, David had a beard. This is a cute caricature of him, holding his clarinet:

DAVID caricature, letter 004-A

Also in 1975, someone posted this letter on the bulletin board at the music department at the University of Hawaii. It’s hilarious. I hope you can read it.  If not, read the larger version below it:

DAVID caricature, letter 005-B

Dear Mr. Hinchey,

This letter is to inform you that you have been nominated for the Cheapskates of America Citation, which is given only to those people who have shown great pride in being a Cheapskate.

We the committee feel that congradulations (sic) are in order because you are by far “THE CHEAPEST PERSON OF THE YEAR.” We also know that you don’t like flattery so in honoring you with this award we will give you nothing but this letter.

Again thank-you for all that you’ve done.

Majalo and Aloja,

Harold Pennypincher III

***

Looking at all of these things, David feels nostalgic about the good old days.  What fun he had back then!

As you know, he and I met during music rehearsal in 1977. I played my violin, and he played his clarinet. He offered me a ride home after each rehearsal.  One thing led to another, and we ended up getting married in 1980.

Memories!

P.S.  I sold my two violins in 1992.  Now, David wants to do the same with his two clarinets.  The main reason is that he no longer plays these instruments, and he wants to let other students have the benefit of playing them.  However, if the offer is less than $1,000, he will decline the offer and wait until the market improves.

18 Responses to “What fun he had back then!”

  1. Olga Says:

    My husband’s business was restoration of antique American motorcycles. That was also one of his hobbies and he owned several Harleys and and Indian. He rode them all at one time, but riding those old bikes takes a toll on the body. I remember how sad it was when he finally sold his last one. However, it made him feel bad to see that bike dusty in the garage. He wanted it ti be ridden and appreciated for what it was meant to do. What prompted you and David to let go of your music?

    • gigihawaii Says:

      After David and I got married, we stopped playing our instruments, because we were too busy going to work and raising our kids. These instruments are meant to be played, not sit in the closet. Why not sell them?

  2. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Clearing put always bring memories and thanks for sharing David’s here. Hope the clarinets find a good home because as you said, Gigi, thry should be used and enjoyed to make music.

  3. DJan Says:

    I do hope he finds a buyer for those clarinets. They deserve to be in use! They are fine looking instruments. David never struck me as being a cheapskate, that seems odd to me! 🙂

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Back in 1975, he was still a student and didn’t have money. He didn’t start his career in business and accounting until 1977, the year he met me.

  4. Christine Says:

    wonderful memories invoked by the clarinets!

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    Someone will be very happy to get those clarinets. I hope he finds a buyer soon. It was lovely to hear how the two of you met. That’s a funny letter and I am sure it was all tongue in cheek humor.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Ha ha I know another David who was a cheapskate for years. Now he’s less so and almost broke. Maybe there’s a moral here? Dianne

  7. Suzanne Says:

    What a great letter. That is funny. Good luck with the clarinet.

  8. granny annie Says:

    I played the saxophone through junior high and high school. When I married I traded my saxophone for a sewing machine. I never learned to sew and have no idea what ever happened to the sewing machine. I think my first husband pawned it. Hope you get a good price for the clarinets.

  9. Joanne Says:

    Ah, but the award does not cite the cause of his cheapskate award. What did he do to deserve it?

    • gigihawaii Says:

      David still does not know who wrote that letter, so he does not know what triggered it. But, he admits he always tried to get things for free — like free beer and food at group events.

  10. Kay G. Says:

    Just wondering, are you a cheapskate like your husband? That is a funny letter! You are both musicians, even if you don’t play, you will always have that music in your heart! 🙂

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    It makes sense to get things back into use again. I say that about things I donate. I don’t have anything I want to sell yet.

  12. marmeladegypsy Says:

    I have a harp in the basement I never learned to play all that well and needs restringing — and can i remember how to tune it? I should part with it and yet find it difficult to do so. I admire that you can consider letting things like that go — or revisiting them, at least.

Leave a Reply

