Crotons: Before and after

I couldn’t bear to see some of these crotons near my porch, because they looked unhealthy:

old crotons 005-A

So, David bought two new crotons to replace the three he dug out:

new crotons 002-A

new crotons 003-A

It will take a while for the new ones to grow as tall as the adjacent ones, but at least they look healthier and brighter than the previous plants.

You might be wondering why I prefer crotons to flowers. One reason: Bees. Have you ever been stung by a bee? I have and, boy, was it painful. As you know, flowers attract bees. Crotons do not. Yet, crotons are just as colorful as flowers, if not more so.

Crotons are also low-maintenance plants. Our automatic lawn sprinklers water them every evening, and I don’t have to do anything more for them.  They do require full sunlight.

I absolutely adore crotons!

Do crotons grow well in your part of the world?

13 Responses to “Crotons: Before and after”

  1. granny annie Says:

    I did not know what it was and walked past some that were on sale yesterday for half price. Now I wish I had picked a couple up. They did catch my eye because they are so lovely and I always want anything that is such low maintenance:) I may have to go back.

  2. Christine Says:

    They are beautiful but would have to be houseplants in Canada! I like low maintenance.

  3. DJan Says:

    I don’t think they grow well here, I’ve never seen any growing anyway. They are pretty. David did a good job, as usual. 🙂

  4. Jeanie Says:

    I am not familiar with crotons but they sound like a perfect, low maintenance choice for where you have them. I will have to check to see if they grow here.

  5. Olga Says:

    I have a croton in my Florida yard. They would not fare well in Vermont.

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    I don’t think they would survive in our weather either. My dear mother-in-law used to be allergic to bees. If one flew around us she would immediately go into the house as if she was stung she knew it would be a trip to the hospital. Fortunately I have never been bothered by them and am actually planting flowers to attract both bees and butterflies. Our bees are declining and need all the help they can get. No bees, no flowers and so on and so on. Your new plants look lovely but our climate makes them an indoor plant.

  7. Grannymar Says:

    Here they only grow as house plants and need to be draft free.

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I hope the new Crotons adjust to their new home. They are indeed beautiful.

  9. Cathy Says:

    The different colourings show up well against the cream wall and If they stay bushy and not get leggy they will fill that space quite well. The colouring is very similar to the ones you already have growing there so they will blend in magnificently
    Much too cold for them down here in Melbourne (house plant yes – outdoors no) but they do grow in the north. There are lots of them to be seen in Queensland gardens.
    Cathy

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    Here they are house plants. I have one in a pretty yellow pot on an end table in the family room.
    But I could not do without flowers too.

  11. jenjilks Says:

    We cannot grow these here, since we can go down to -40 C.! Lots of people have them indoors in pots, though!
    (ツ) from Cottage Country Ontario , ON, Canada!

  12. marmeladegypsy Says:

    I have never heard of a croton so my guess is we probably can’t grow them, at least outside. They’re lovely, though.

  13. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    When I first saw the word crotans mentioned I thoight of the crunchies added to salads, but then realized these were plants! And, no Inhave never heard of them and unsure if they frow on the VA eastern shore.

Leave a Reply

