Any ideas for my patio?

I want to make my patio look better and more inviting.  Right now, it needs more plants around the perimeter.

Here are three photos of the patio, which is rather bare:

Facing the house:

Patio 004-A

Facing the side yard:

Patio 008-A

Facing the neighbors:

Jade plant 001-A

Plants are expensive.  This succulent on the patio table cost $30.00.  I bought it, because it doesn’t shed leaves or flowers, and I want a neat, clean patio.  I don’t want plants that will topple over in the wind, either:

Jade plant 003-A

I am considering plants for the perimeter of the patio that are low maintenance.  And I don’t want to use pesticides on them.  That rules out roses, hibiscus, and gardenias.  I might buy crotons, because they are colorful and don’t attract bees.  Lots of greenery would look nice in the patio, also.

Oh, there are so many plants to choose from.  I love to visit the Koolau Farmers nursery and the nursery at Home Depot.

Any ideas for my patio?

19 Responses to “Any ideas for my patio?”

  1. Olga Says:

    You have lots of space. I know Mike would have immediately put out a couple lounge chairs with a small table for books and a drink. Crotons would look nice to soften that fence, but I know what you mean about not wanting to deal with messes. I was so excited about planting things when we bought the property in Florida until I realized that taking care of those plants was a full time job. I ended up taking more out than I put in. Perhaps if I win the lottery I can hire a gardener and have the landscape of my dreams.

  2. Linda Says:

    Will rosemary grow there?

  3. DJan Says:

    I kind of like the spare look, clean and uncluttered. If it were my patio, I’d probably have a square planter with herbs in it. 🙂

  4. Christine Says:

    I love the blue chairs. Maybe you should browse decorating mags to find your style, a look you like.

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    I am always looking for ideas myself so I will be interested in what your commentors have to suggest. I do like your patio furniture, that’s a pretty blue.

    This link might give you a few ideas. I go to Pinterest every now and again and I typed in patio decorating.

  6. Grannymar Says:

    I’ll pass on this one, your outdoor plants are indoor ones for us.

  7. dkzody Says:

    I have a very bare patio because I hate cleaning it. Everything has to come off when I wash it off. I see photos of really pretty patios that are covered in plantings and other decorations and think, “how pretty,” but then I think about the cleaning aspect and just keep my plain patio.

  8. Patio decor, or lack thereof | Dkzody's Weblog Says:

    […] Gigihawaii is seeking advice about decorating her patio. I am definitely not the one to give advice in that area. As you can see, our patio is pretty plain: […]

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    Would your patio plants have to be in planters or pots? It so your might just go with several very large planters with mixed plantings in them, mostly foliage for easy care.

  10. Tom Sightings Says:

    Plants would be nice, no question about it; but they can be kinda dirty. How about an open canvas tent kind of thing; or a big sculpture; or an outdoor barbecue grill, or a fan (if you need a breeze) or a propane heater (if it gets cool at night); or, yeah, more furniture; but furniture is expensive. B got a big outdoor canvas painting (it’s really a print of some sort, about 3′ x 5′) that we hang on the side of the house and it looks pretty nice — you could hang a few of them on your fence. Anyway, good luck … but you can’t go too far wrong, it’s a nice patio.

  11. Cliff Morrow Says:

    Move to Nebraska and it will be covered with snow half the year and you won’t need to look out there.

  12. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Your succulent is what we call a Jade plant here, I think. The best advice I can give you is to check with your local plant experts at the university of Hawaii. Every state hasa horticulture expert and they are usually attached to ini. Also you could visit the wonderful Foster Botanical Gardens to get some ideas. Small squat shrubbery in pots won’t topple over in high winds. I would check out bottlebrush for one.

  13. Henry Chapin Says:

    I never have to use any kind of spray on my hibiscus. I have around 20 of them in a hedge.

  14. Jeannine Says:

    If you are interested in topic: earn money chatting online uk – you should read
    about Bucksflooder first

Leave a Reply

