Conflict in September?

Here are informal shots of my husband watching the NBA playoffs on television.  As usual, he wears his cordless headphones:

David 001-A

David 002-A

David has been feeling much better lately.  We went shopping at Home Depot yesterday, and he didn’t need to use the cane at all.  In fact, he might not use it today, when we attend the symphony concert at the Blaisdell Concert Hall, where, as you know, we have seats in the nose bleed section of the balcony.

David is debating whether or not he needs knee replacement surgery after all.  What are the risks and what are the benefits?  He said he will discuss it with his surgeon in July.  If it is a go, his surgery will probably happen in September.

However, my 50th high school class reunion is scheduled for September, also.  Should I attend?  Nope, I won’t attend if my husband can’t, due to surgery.  I would like to have a copy of the memory book, though.  It contains the biographies of classmates and what happened to them since graduation.  It will be fun to read.  I have already submitted my bio and recent photo to the memory book committee.  I hope that David’s brother, Michael, has submitted his, as he was my classmate.  (David is three years younger than I am.)

We look forward to hearing the Hawaii Symphony perform works by Gershwin and Beethoven this afternoon.  The music will make our spirits soar.

16 Responses to “Conflict in September?”

  1. Joanne Says:

    The orthopod who replaced my hip said I needed new knees, too. The rheumatologist who looks after my arthritis x-rayed my knees and pronounced them lovely, but having an over reaction to arthritis. He injected cortisone under each knee cap and said it would last up to six months. It’s been two, so far.

  2. DJan Says:

    I understand about not wanting to have that surgery. And if he’s getting better, maybe he won’t have to. I look forward to hearing how this all works out. You really don’t want to miss that reunion, I suspect. 🙂

  3. Grannymar Says:

    Enjoy the concert!

  4. Suzanne Says:

    Glad he is feeling better. That is great news. Enjoy the music.

  5. Olga Says:

    I can understand his hope of not having surgery. I hope he keeps right on feeling better and maybe you two can dance at your 50th reunion.

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    I hope David doesn’t need surgery and am glad he is feeling better.

  7. Christine Says:

    so glad to hear David’s knee is feeling better. Enjoy your concert!

  8. Tom Sightings Says:

    I have a bad left knee and a bad right ankle, but so far have been able to keep them under control with stretching, exercise, support bandages and a little Advil or aspirin. I really don’t want to have anyone poking around in there unless they absolutely have to. However … my older sister has had both knees replaced, one about two years after the other. The rehab was tough; but the final result, she says, has been fantastic.

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Hope you had a good time at the concert. Surgery is a serious matter and not to be done if you are not ready for it. Good luck to David.

  10. granny annie Says:

    We catch small glimpses of your home from time to time and so I love these wide angle shots. It is so lovely. Okay, David is lovely too. lol Hope he gets better and you can attend the reunion together.

  11. Linda Starr Says:

    what does David think of you posting photos of him?

  12. Jeanie Says:

    Whatever the outcome in regard to David’s knee surgery I hope things work out for you to attend your reunion. It would be great if he ends up not having to have the surgery.

  13. Musings Says:

    The memory book sounds like a really terrific thing to have. I’d love to have one from our graduating class. It would have taken tons of work to put together.

  14. marmeladegypsy Says:

    I’m sorry about the conflict. Hopefully you will be able to connect at some point to those with whom you were closest. And you never know — surgery might change dates, too!

Leave a Reply

