Barbecue something better

We are making progress with the renovation of our patio.  David wheeled the barbecue gas grill from the shed to the patio and covered it just before it started to rain:

Patio 001-A

We also bought three colorful crotons to dress up the windows facing the patio.  (We need to buy three more crotons for the fence.):

Patio 002-A

Now, what should we grill?  Top on our wish list is Black Angus premium rib eye steaks.  David and I have no heart disease or problems with cholesterol, but many of our friends and relatives do.  If we decide to grill steaks, no one will come to our party.

Dog gone it.

The last time we used the grill, David barbecued a really thick chateaubriand steak.  It looked beautifully cooked, but when I cut it open, the center was raw and dripping with blood.  Ugh!  I prefer a pink center, not a red, bloody one.

That was in 2008.  Six years later, we want to barbecue something better.

What do you suggest?

17 Responses to “Barbecue something better”

  1. GA BOWS Says:

    Kalbi is great on the grill… short cooking time.

  2. granny annie Says:

    What about Prawns or Tuna steaks?

  3. DJan Says:

    Yes! Some good salmon would be my favorite, but any fish and prawns would be wonderful. When should I arrive? 🙂

  4. Linda Says:

    Salmon & asparagus on a cedar plank. Easy and delicious.

  5. Olga Says:

    I put the grill away last fall and will most likely leave it put away. That was Mike’s area of culinary expertise and I don’t want to be bothered with learning that particular new trick. I haveto go google Kalbi…

  6. Jeanie Says:

    I went to a barbecue a week or so ago where they cooked chicken ribs and steaks and they were all delicious. Fish is always good and much healthier than my favorite….a hamburger cooked on a grill.

  7. Christine Says:

    you can also grill vegetables!

  8. gigihawaii Says:

    How does this sound? SURF AND TURF BBQ.

    Rib eye steak and Shrimp scampi.

    Yummy!

  9. Kay G. Says:

    I vote for Salmon! It’s yummy AND healthy!!

  10. Makiki Says:

    What about getting 1 nice Ribeye, grill it nicely, let it rest for 10 to 15 minutes and slice it pupu style and have it with a nice salad and other veggies that can be stir fried or grilled. That way you get a good “meaty” meal and it doesn’t have to be heavy.

  11. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I’dgo with petite steaks. Cook chicken for those who don’t eat red meat.but what do I know. We never have a crowd over for anything.

  12. Musings Says:

    I’ve done teriyaki chicken on the grill and it comes out great. Your patio will be a fabulous place to have a casual meal.

  13. LC Says:

    Just reading your grilling ideas and your reader’s comments has me drooling. Time to clean my keyboard. I know from past events that you planned that this one will be wonderful.

Leave a Reply

