Physical therapy

At the advice of his orthopedist, David has been seeing a physical therapist to strengthen both legs prior to knee replacement surgery later this year.

The therapist taught him the following exercises to be performed twice a day at home:

These are on his side:

Physical therapy 001-A

Physical therapy 002-A

These are on his back:

Physical therapy 003-A

Physical therapy 004-A

David will see the therapist a few more times.  He was told to use the bicycle at the gym to further strengthen his legs.

We know two people, whose artificial knees became infected after surgery, forcing them to spend time in a wheelchair.  However, we have heard success stories, also, where surgery changed people’s lives for the better.

Hopefully, my husband will be able to play basketball again in the near future!

22 Responses to “Physical therapy”

  1. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    The therapy does not look that comfortable to perform, but anything that will help the surgery will be worth the effort.

  2. Beatrice Says:

    This is what I have heard, too! Some good, some bad stories. You never know how it will turn out…..choose the place were op will be done carefully! I am engaged with my parents suddenly, who both turned to the worse healthwise recently. Further I am into a bad bilious attack myself :/ Have a great 1st of May, anyway •●⊱╮
    Beatrice

  3. Olga Says:

    PT is practically the religion of my family. I wish David the best. He is wise to keep at those exercises. Somewhat ironic, but you definitely want to be as strong as you can be going into any kind of surgery.

  4. granny annie Says:

    There have been many more success stories than horror stories about knee replacements. It is exciting to think he might be able to play basketball. Could he play basketball before? lol

  5. DJan Says:

    I do hope David’s surgery turns out to be the good kind. There is just no way to know for sure, is there? I’m glad he’s being proactive and strengthening his knees and legs. 🙂

  6. Jeanie Says:

    I have heard that following the rehab procedures after the surgery is very important to the long term outcome. I hope it all goes well for David.

  7. Joanne Says:

    My friend has a year old knee. She worked hard with the stationary bike, before and after. She says the knee has become an old friend.

  8. Grannymar Says:

    David will have to continue exercising the knee after surgery. No doing so will impede his progress. I know several people with knee replacements and they were/are all successful. Patience and determination are goods items to have in the arsenal.

  9. dkzody Says:

    I have many friends and acquaintances who have had knee and hip replacements and they have all gone very well. I do know,though, that Fresno has one of the top orthopedic surgeons in the country. My mother in law had a partial replacement and it did not go well so don’t be lulled into that argument. The dr who did that technique is a big of a quack.

    Exercising on the couch looks pretty funny. Wouldn’t it work better to be on the floor or a harder surface?

  10. Christine Says:

    Oh good luck, I have heard good things about knee surgery.

  11. Suzanne Says:

    A friend of ours just got his done 2-weeks or so ago. He is already walking off the cane. I am not sure how much but some anyway.

  12. mageb Says:

    I love my new hip, but not the gym. You can find me and all my worn out parts in the pool.

  13. DeniseinVA Says:

    Good for David that he continues his therapy at home, and I do wish him all the best with his future surgery.

  14. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    The last time you reported on David I had the impression he would forego surgery.

  15. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Good for him. I hope he can play basketball again.

  16. LC Says:

    Good for David working to be in as good condition as possible for the surgery.

  17. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Many good wishes for his successful recovery. PT does wonders! My surgeon started me with PT prior (shoulder) and I think it made a huge difference in recovery!

  18. Michelle Says:

    Water aerobics and any water/pool exercise is great low-impact to strengthen legs, etc. My best friend is in prepare mode for total knee replacement, and she’s been doing the water aerobics for over a year. Also I agree with other comments, following the PT afterwards is the key – my aunt had the surgery last year and said it can be challenging but it’s worth it. Best of outcomes for David!

  19. Linda Starr Says:

    is David going to have arthroscopic replacement? Our neighbor in Florida had his down that way and he recovered in no time.

  20. Musings Says:

    Poor David… I’m so sorry. I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed that everything will work out beautifully.

Leave a Reply

