Memories of a baby shower

In February 1982, two of my aunts, Bobbie and Jennie, hosted a wonderful baby shower for me at The Summit Restaurant atop the Ala Moana Hotel.  At the time, I was eight months pregnant with my younger daughter, Lisa.

Aunty Bobbie, Aunty Jennie, my mother, and me:

Baby shower 001-A

Me (age 36), my mother (66), and my mother in law (67).  My sisters in law, Wanda and Pat, are in the background:

Baby shower 002-A

Lunch at The Summit:

Baby shower 003-A

Me and my sister, Sylvia, who was writing down the names of the guests and their gifts  (that’s a Pampers Cake, made by my cousin, Laura):

Baby shower 004-A

Me holding a darling dress for the baby:

Baby shower 005-A

David and our newborn daughter, Lisa, at Kaiser Hospital in Honolulu:

Baby shower 006-A

Some of the individuals pictured above have since passed away.  I thank God that I still have these precious pictures of a happy time when they were alive.

Thank you, Aunty Bobbie and Aunty Jennie, for hosting this beautiful baby shower for me.  I appreciate it.

14 Responses to “Memories of a baby shower”

  1. DJan Says:

    And Lisa is now nearly the same age you were when you had her! I just had to add it all up in my head, did I get it right? Great pictures! 🙂

  2. Beatrice Says:

    So lovely photos!!! I gave birth twice to boys around the same time and I still like to see all the photos that were made then! I finally saw you give a real beautiful bright smile. Your photos today show you always quite serious and unhappy with just a glimpse of a Mona-Lisa-smile….;)
    Beatrice

    • gigihawaii Says:

      That’s because I still have the after effects of Bell’s Palsy and have significant nerve damage on my face. I cannot smile anymore.

  3. Olga Says:

    How wonderful to have these beautiful memories.

  4. Grannymar Says:

    Those photos are so precious and can bring the people right into the now of our memories.

  5. Joanne Says:

    The old pictures become priceless. So good to be able to scan them.

  6. Tom Sightings Says:

    That photo of David and your daughter reminded me of an old photo I have of me and my daughter (who’s now 30). So I had to go look it up … thanks for the memory. (P.S. While of course I can see from the photos in your blog that today you are a gracious and beautiful woman, if you don’t mind my saying so, at age 36 you were a knockout!)

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Sweet memories, and you and David look so young!

  8. Cathy Says:

    Baby showers and looking forward to the new child always seems to make people smile and have happy thoughts. Great photos to bring back lovely memories
    What a good looking couple you both were.
    Cathy

  9. palolo Says:

    Looks like David gained 70 pounds since Lisa was born. No wonder his knees hurt so much.

  10. dkzody Says:

    Ah, days gone by. I was just chatting with my 5 year old granddaughter about things she might tell HER granddaughter some day. It seems so funny to think such things today, but like these photos demonstrate, time passes very quickly. The stories are what we have to pass on.

  11. Kay G. Says:

    What wonderful photos! You look so happy! So glad you have the great photos of those loved ones who are no longer with you.
    xx

Leave a Reply

