Flo’s art

I have known Flo since we were classmates in sophomore English (World Literature) in 1966 at the University of Hawaii.  She sat next to me in the front row.  I attended her wedding, too, and have many fond memories of our time together.

You might remember this oil painting of a garden I purchased from her last year.  It’s beautiful:

Flo's art 006-A

I recently purchased a painting of a lighthouse from her.  She wanted to offer it as a gift to me and David, but I insisted on paying her.  It was the least I could do for such a talented artist.

This is Flo, holding her oil painting of a lighthouse:

Flo's art 002-A

This is a close-up of the painting.  Isn’t it stunning?  I love the sunset:

Flo's art 004-A

I enjoy living in my house, because I am surrounded by art and furniture that David and I personally selected.  I cannot fathom why some people hire an interior decorator to decorate their home.  It’s that person’s taste, not yours.  Decorate your home yourself.  After all, you are the one who lives there.

13 Responses to “Flo’s art”

  1. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    We have several art pieces done by local artist friends. Sadly, we had to put them away as part of decluttering to sell our home, but they will be displayed again anyplace we move into.

  2. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I’m with you. While some interior decorators may be very talented, too many make a home look like an exhibit in a magazine. I prefer a home well lived in, where the inhabitants personalities shine through. I like reading mags that share ideas, however. Ditto my garden where I have used an idea from one place or another.

  3. Grannymar Says:

    I suppose some people lack the confidence to select colours that match or decorate their own homes, we all have different talents. Your David has a talent for figures, while I work best in the world of crafts.

    Nice pictures.

  4. Olga Says:

    Both your paintings are beautiful. I agree with you–it is important for a home to reflect those who live there.

  5. Joanne Says:

    The garden painting is hands down my favorite.

  6. granny annie Says:

    You have done a wonderful job decorating your own home. It is always neat to catch a glimpse in your blog postings.

  7. Beatrice Says:

    So right what you say! I could never imagine somebody else do the interieur design for my home! Guess some people do it to make sure they really have the hippest style when they get guests, no matter if they like it themselves or not…… 😉
    Beatrice

  8. DJan Says:

    I well remember when you bought that first painting. Well done, Gigi! 🙂

  9. Cathy Says:

    I don’t know anyone who has had their home decor specifically designed for them – guess I don’t move in the right circles lol. Those that do so obviously are happy with the choices made for them
    Our homes are what we make them – there is room for our choices in furniture and fittings and also the inherited ones as well (grannie’s arm chair etc)
    Lighthouses are special to me so your recent acquisition would definitely have to my choice of the two – if I had to choose that is!
    Cathy

  10. DeniseinVA Says:

    How wonderful to have a friend who paints such beautiful pieces. I always am happy to have met the people I buy paintings from, and have several that I bought in England over 30 years ago.

  11. Suzanne Says:

    That is a gorgeous painting. She is very talented.

  12. dkzody Says:

    It’s wonderful when you personally know the artist. It makes the piece mean even more to you. I have number of paintings in our house done by a friend and I think of her and the story behind the picture every time I look at one of them.

  13. L...w Says:

    Beautiful, beautiful painting. What a stunning vision. Artistically over the edge on purpose and by design I’m guessing….. like her overly bountiful garden. I like it!

Leave a Reply

