The worst holiday of the year

Kahala Nui 001-A

Real orchids.

Here it is, still May, and already I am thinking of my Thanksgiving party for my family.  I usually invite just my sisters and their children as well as my own, and it amounts to around 15-17 people.

I always wondered why I dreaded Thanksgiving.  I considered it the worst holiday of the year, and I simply hated it.

Why?

Because of the hassle of buying, roasting, and carving the turkey!  Not to mention finding a place in the backyard to dispose of the grease.

Stressful!

This year, I intend to forgo the turkey.  If people want turkey that badly, they have to bring their own.  Many of my guests are vegetarians, anyway, and only a few are die-hard turkey lovers, so I don’t think there will be much moaning and groaning at this bit of news.  At least, I hope not.

I intend to make the following food items:

Vegetarian paella (Spanish rice sautéed with veggies)

Corn-tomato salad (with lime juice dressing)

Spinach quiche (eggs baked with spinach, onions, milk and cheese)

Let’s see how the menu evolves.  What will other people bring to this potluck party?  It will be an adventure for all of us.

Can you see yourselves not eating turkey this Thanksgiving?

15 Responses to “The worst holiday of the year”

  1. DeniseinVA Says:

    Fortunately I haven’t had to cook a Thanksgiving meal in several years. At one time everyone would come to our house and I remember the stress of it but then family started moving out of our area and Thanksgiving was transferred south of us. I would have no problem with a vegetarian meal. I am meeting more and more people lately who are vegetarians and I am trying to put more vegetarian meals on our table.

  2. Suzanne Says:

    I am not near family on Thanksgiving so it rarely gets celebrated by us. I would have no problem skipping the turkey though if we were.

  3. DJan Says:

    I only eat turkey when visiting my siblings, and somebody else cooks it. Here, we have baked salmon with all the trimmings! 🙂

  4. Joanne Says:

    We gave up turkey for Thanksgiving a couple of years ago. Even the kids didn’t miss it.

  5. Jeanie Says:

    We had a Mexican food Thanksgiving a coup;e of years ago and everyone loved it.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Pot luck is the way to go. Although Thanksgiving is a big holiday for some, I stopped celebrating it years ago. I dislike most holidays. Too sad when friends and relatives have died or moved on.

  7. Grannymar Says:

    We do not have a Thanksgiving holiday in Ireland, it is purely an American event. I like the idea of everyone bringing a dish and having pot luck. It means I can eat my own food without the worry of eating butter, milk or cream, since I have an allergy to them.

  8. Juicy J Says:

    Why wouldn’t you just put the grease in the garbage?

  9. Tom Sightings Says:

    I agree, T’giving is down at the bottom of the holiday list. All you do is overeat, which makes you feel bad, and then watch football, which I find boring. I will admit, however that I like turkey — but your menu sounds good too!

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    I can’t see myself even thinking about Thanksgiving yet! And perhaps if you hate Thanksgiving you need to remember what the name of it is, and just give thanks that you have family to share whatever you want to eat with.

  11. dkzody Says:

    We’ve had vegan Thanksgiving for years. If you check last year’s Thanksgiving post, you will see my menu as I hosted last year’s holiday meal. I like Thanksgiving. The weather is usually still nice. No gifts are involved. Now, Christmas, that’s a whole ‘nother subject. But, we still have a lovely summer to get through, so let’s not think about the holidays now.

  12. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    You are thinking ahead early, Gigi. If we do cook a turkey it is the one time of the year we enjoy it and then for many meals afterwards. Never sure where or how we will celebrate.

  13. marmeladegypsy Says:

    I love Thanksgiving but I have developed a no-stress policy for it! If the kids are here and we are at Rick’s, I will make the stuffing, dessert and bring the turkey dishes and table settings. If it’s at my house, I might cook a little more, but there will probably be someone here and they can bring things. And if it’s just the two of us (or even three), it’s a turkey breast — just the right size with a little bit left over and not so big you have to tend it! We have two Christmasses — the one where Rick cooks and the one where I cook — and that might be anything! I think last year it was shrimp & grits! The main part is being together.

    And thanks for stopping by The Gypsy! I love it when you visit!

  14. granny annie Says:

    We have too much turkey on Thanksgiving. My son brings a smoked one that he get’s from his work every year and my son-in-law MUST deep fry a turkey. I truly like the sound of your planned menu a lot.

Leave a Reply

