A tenant like me

Kahala Nui 002-A

A lovely painting, hanging in the lobby at Kahala Nui, a retirement facility in Hawaii.

Good news:  The bed for the rental studio will be delivered on June 4.  Shortly thereafter, David will paint the driveway and garage, and will install a sheet of painted plywood on the door in the hallway.  The plywood will seal the rental unit from the rest of the house.  As we love our privacy, we don’t want a stranger traipsing through our home.  The studio has a private entrance and faces a quiet backyard.

Once the paint dries, I’ll post my ad on Craigslist.  We have decided to communicate with applicants via email, because we don’t want any crank telephone calls in the middle of the night.

Since applicants will be able to view the photos we post on Craigslist, only those who are seriously interested will complete the application form online.  We will check their references and criminal history and choose the top five applicants.  Personal interviews and actual viewing of our property will be scheduled.  After that, we will pick the tenant we like the most.

It would be wonderful if we could find a tenant like me.  I was a tenant in California, Thailand, Germany, New York, and Hawaii.  I always paid my rent on time and kept the place looking clean and neat.  I was never evicted.

Where, oh, where is such a tenant?

18 Responses to “A tenant like me”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    I almost thought that painting was real looking out a window; good luck with the rental, smart to do all the checking. I might meet them elsewhere for the interview other than the apartment, you never know on craigslist

  2. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    It would be nice if you could find a tenant exactly like you and hopefully all your careful planning will bring a good applicant.

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I am sure you were an excellent tenant. So was I or we in the years I rented with my first husband. We even did some maintenance work while we lived on the property.

  4. DJan Says:

    Fingers crossed that you will find that tenant in record time! 🙂

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    I always enjoy your photos at the beginning of your posts. Good luck with finding the perfect tenant.

  6. Grannymar Says:

    Good luck in your search for a new neighbour!

  7. Joanne Says:

    You’re doing everything right; just keep on task and you’ll find a tenant like you.

  8. Suzanne Says:

    Good luck. You are doing the right steps. I think you will find a good one.

  9. Olga Says:

    They are out there and I hope you find a really good one who is quiet and keeps the place as neat as a pin–and pays the rent on time.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    With your situation, I would think you will attract desirable tenants.

  11. dkzody Says:

    So glad to read that you are doing background checks and learning about possible tenants.

    A house in our neighborhood has been for rent for about two months and a number of people have come to look at it. I gather none of them can pass the background check. Also the rent is $1100 which may be a bit stiff for some people as they have to pay first and last which means coming up with $2200 all at once.

    I was just told by a person in our local police department that they have trouble finding new recruits because only one out of three can pass their background check, which is substantially more than one for a renter, but still. People have a lot of bad stuff in their life.

  12. Tom Sightings Says:

    Sounds like you’re on top of things. But … paint the driveway? Never heard of that. Is that something people do in Hawaii?

    • gigihawaii Says:

      There’s one other neighbor down the street who painted his driveway green, like us. I wish I had known that it is possible to dye the cement green before pouring. That would have saved us the effort and labor of painting it annually. We chose green to match the lawn.

  13. marmeladegypsy Says:

    You and Rick say the same thing. The one that just left — well, it was a terrible clean-up, but you never would have known from meeting her and when she showed the apartment. References can tell you lots — but not everything!

  14. mageb Says:

    I’d let an agency do the scut work. You will find one.

  15. Christine Says:

    love that painting! Looking forward to hearing about your new tenant. I’m back to blogland!

  16. granny annie Says:

    It has been ages since I was a renter, but like you, I always paid on time, took care of the property and left it in very good condition when I moved out. Everything I hear indicated those type renters are few and far between these days but perhaps that is just gossip and rumor.

  17. Maria Says:

    I still think you should either 1. cut a gate into the front wall to allow the tenant a paved path to the studio door via the patio or 2. put in a gravel path to the door the other way around. No tenant is going to want to walk all the way around the house through the grass, especially if it’s wet grass. And what if the sprinkler system is on when they want to come or go? then they’re stuck. And just think of the damage to your carpet when they enter the studio after traipsing through the wet grass! Just saying. But you never like to listen to me anyway…

Leave a Reply

