It’s Hawaii, after all

This is our neighbors’ fruit (guava) tree:

plants 002-A

This is the rubbish that tree makes on our front yard:

plants 003-A

Fortunately, we have yard men who come once a month to clean our yard, but, you know, it’s just once a month.  Between jobs, the leaves accumulate.  It’s an eye sore.  (The birds eat the guavas.)

I wish they would chop down that stupid tree.  Yeah, we are the stupid ones who don’t complain to our neighbors.

Would you?  To keep the peace, we don’t.

As for our neighbors on the other side of our property, the woman still screams and yells in the middle of the night, though not as often as before.  In the past, I called 911 and told the cops to see if someone was trying to kill her.  Now, I let it go, because I realize the woman is speaking on the telephone – probably to someone in Vietnam, where she’s from.

Well, at least, they got rid of their dog, who loved to bark all day long while they were at work.

So, this is my life.  I try to count my blessings and give thanks that I am not homeless.

It’s Hawaii, after all.

20 Responses to “It’s Hawaii, after all”

  1. Cathy Says:

    Living with neighbours teaches us give and take. Get a garden rake Gigi – enjoy the outdoors, rake the leaves to one side and get some exercise at the same time.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I prefer to go to hula class than get that kind of exercise, which is a chore that I detest. It is a never ending problem because leaves continue to come down despite the raking.

  2. Olga Says:

    Our property in Florida had a big jacaranda tree in the yard between us the neighbors. When we first moved in our neighbors asked us right away to cut down the tree. They had asked the previous owner but he declined. He lived there full time and the neighbors, like me, do not. I said that I would think about it. That tree dropped black stuff (pollen? seeds?), leaves, and then spiky thorns that could penetrate a rubber flipflop. It came down.

  3. granny annie Says:

    Is guava a delicious fruit to eat? If so, do you get any of the actual fruit in your yard or just the debris? We had a huge pecan tree in our yard in Tulsa and the neighbors complained about the fallen leaves or limbs and would pick them up and throw them over the fence into our yard. They gleefully gathered all the pecans that fell in their yard though and they kept those:)

    • gigihawaii Says:

      The guavas that fall into our yard are either eaten by the birds or they are too small and green to be edible. We had a similar problem with their avocado tree, but fortunately that tree was cut down.

  4. Snoskred Says:

    Well, let me tell you my fascinating story of neighbours.

    We only have one neighbour. She was elderly and she had this dog which would bark constantly for hours whenever she was not home. Being decent people, we tolerated this noise and never said anything though we certainly were tempted when she would go away for a weekend and the dog would bark for 48 hours solid.

    So last year a for sale sign appeared on her house, and I thought fantastic! Finally we will get some peace. It took her ages to sell the house, and finally she moved out in February. The property went up for lease.

    The people who moved in have several small kids, and at 7am they kick them out into the back yard, where they scream, yell for their mother at the top of their lungs, and generally create more noise than you would think possible for regular people. I have a suspicion maybe she is running a home day care as there seems to be different kids of different ages at various times of the day.

    This would not be such an issue if I did not work night shift and have to sleep during the day.

    So far I have tried installing super thick material over the windows that face their house, with limited success.

    I now wish I could have the dog back. At least I could have done something about that if necessary. It isn’t exactly like I can call up the local council and complain about someones kids making a lot of noise like you can call and complain about a dog barking.

    I would give just about anything to have a guava tree be my only neighbour issue. 🙂

    • gigihawaii Says:

      That’s too bad. I hate barking dogs as much as I hate screaming kids. Could you possibly switch to working days and sleeping nights? That would be one solution.

  5. Christine Says:

    I love fruit trees though! My neighbours are very quiet, fortunately.

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    I agree with Cathy. Get out and rake the leaves if they bug you that much. Yes, trees are messy, but they clean our air and feed nature, and in this case, probably people too.
    We are losing too many trees in our neighborhood to increased housing and to neighbors who cut them down just because they are “messy”. It doesn’t take much work to clean up under a tree, and the exercise is good for you.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      One less tree won’t hurt the universe, believe me.
      On the other hand, my neighbors would have a friend for life if they raked up their mess in my yard!
      I expect my hubby to clean up after himself, so why not our neighbors?
      Motto to live by: Be considerate.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Another thing that bugs me is dog poop. Why can’t people pick up after their dogs?

  7. Grannymar Says:

    You cannot stop leaves falling off trees. It is was trees do. Only answer is to live in a desert, but then you would have to deal with blowing sand everywhere.

    I hope your tenant is not into loud music or plays the drums!

  8. dkzody Says:

    You would hate to be our neighbor. We have two large trees in the backyard and they lose their leaves in the fall. The leaves fall into the neighbors’ yards, I know they must, but I’ve never heard a complaint. Like me, they just rake them up.

  9. mageb Says:

    Make guava jam and jelly. That’s good stuff.

  10. Jeanie Says:

    It would be nice if they would clean up the mess their tree makes in your yard, but that is probably not going to happen. I am not usually in favor of cutting down a healthy tree.

  11. Tom Sightings Says:

    The leaves wouldn’t bother me, but the screaming neighbor would. Reminds me of when I lived in a condo, and the woman next door owned two attack dogs who were in attack mode pretty much all the time, barking, yanking at their chains, growling and gnashing teeth, even lunging at the window when they were inside. Still makes me break out in a anxious sweat. Yeesh, neighbors!

  12. Suzanne Says:

    At least the dog is gone. I like dogs but not ones that bark all the live long day.

  13. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Now that John has moved on, we need someone to help us with yard. We have a few trees too. Overgrown. Thank goodness no guavas. We can have the trees cut back to the property line, but it costs $$.

  14. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Read all of the previous comments and suggestions and have no new pnes to offer. The loud screaming and barking dog would bother me more than the tree mess.

Leave a Reply

