Family life

family 002-A

A recent photo of me, my children and grandchildren in my dining room.  Back row:  Maria, Lisa, and me.  Front:  Rylan and Julia.

I look at this wonderful picture, and I am filled with gratitude.  How lucky I am to have such a beautiful family.  And they are all healthy, too.

Maria still teaches math at a local high school and is still the chairman of the math department.  She and her husband will be visiting Japan this month to celebrate their tenth wedding anniversary.  Grant lived in Japan for two years as a Mormon missionary, so he knows his way around and speaks Japanese fluently.  He will make a great tour guide for his wife.  Grant has a multi-faceted career as a school teacher, photographer, artist, and translator.

Their daughter, Julia, is in first grade and she can do everything very well:  read, write, draw, dance, sing, swim, and play soccer.  Her father coaches her soccer team.

Her younger brother, Rylan, is in preschool and is adjusting nicely.  He recently danced on stage on May Day and showed great poise and talent.

Lisa is still a grad student in Nevada and is home for a few weeks to relax before returning to school.  She will graduate next year with a doctorate in physical therapy and will take the national board exam.  If she passes, she will look for work there.  She seems happy, so I try not to worry about her.

When I look back on my life as a single woman, I shudder.  I was so wild, unbelievably wild.  How did I manage to survive such a turbulent past?  Fortunately, I now have a very stable life as wife, mother, and grandmother.  I couldn’t be happier.

12 Responses to “Family life”

  1. Olga Says:

    That is a wonderful picture. You certainly have reason to be both grateful and proud.

  2. Grannymar Says:

    Lovely family photo.

  3. DJan Says:

    You are indeed very fortunate. A wonderful family. 🙂

  4. Jeanie Says:

    Yes, you have a beautiful family and so much to be grateful for. That is a wonderful picture.

  5. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Much happiness and joy shown in this photo and a good deal or pride and rightly so,Gigi, that everyone is happy and healthy. There is much to be thankful for as you said.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    We are both of us blessed to have such a great family and to have survived our younger days.

  7. Christine Says:

    what a beauitful family! So you sowed your wild oats and settled down so wonderfully!

  8. palolo Says:

    What did you do Gigi that was so wild? Did you live life with “no fear” of anything?

  9. dkzody Says:

    Lovely family. Yes, we’ve all done things in our youth that make us shudder now in old age.

  10. Linda Starr Says:

    What a beautiful family you have, you and I have similar paths I was so wild as a single woman I often wonder how I lived this long and consider myself so lucky to have done so

  11. depressionen Says:

    Hi aree using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get
    started and set up my own. Do youu requite any html coding
    expertise to make your own blog? Any help would be gredatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

