Christine’s gift

On May 9, David and I had dinner with my blog friend, Christine, and her family.  They were here to take an inter-island cruise and wanted to meet us in person. Since they reside in Canada, they were interested to hear David speak about his parents, who were born and raised in Canada and had immigrated to Hawaii, when David was seven years old.

Christine is a very nice person and has an interesting history, herself.  Do click on her name on my blog roll.

Before dinner, I presented Christine with two bags of Roy’s Kona Coffee Blend, one decaf and the other regular. She, in turn, gave me this beautiful necklace with a bear paw pendant.

This is me, modeling it:

Bear pendant 002-A

Bear pendant 004-A

Bear pendant 006-A

I asked Christine for information about her gift. These are her words:

The necklace bear paw pendant is made of Hematite gemstone with Abalone shell inlay.

It seems people confuse the indigenous peoples of Canada and the various names.  Terms such as ‘Aboriginal’, ‘First Peoples’ and ‘Native American’ are very general terms which describe the Inuit (Eskimo), First Nations (Indian) and the Metis who are all separate cultures.  And in fact, the term ‘Eskimo’ is considered insulting in Canada.

Anyway, the symbolism of the bear paw is similar in all these cultures.  It represents power and inner strength.  So I imagine when they wore it, they felt powerful and strong!

Here is some interesting info I found on hematite mineral. Apparently it has healing properties:

http://fengshui.about.com/od/Crystals/qt/What-Is-Hematite.htm

Christine, thanks so much for this gorgeous necklace. Every time I wear it, I think of you. Aloha and mahalo to you and your family.

This is her pretty hand-drawn greeting card:

Christine's card 001-A

What a wonderful blog friend!

13 Responses to “Christine’s gift”

  1. Olga Says:

    The pendant is lovely, a very nice gift.

  2. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Because they reside in Alaska, the Census Bureau referred to them as Alaska natives in the past. Goodness knows what they will be called in the future. Everyone has a different idea. I think of all US and Canadian peoples are American. Keep it simple I say.

    Re the necklace looks very much like the Northwest art of the Tsimshian, Haida, Kwakiutl peoples. My favorite art and a beautiful work of piece.

  3. Christine Says:

    Gigi the necklace looks fantastic on you, you could be a jewellery model! Thanks for this wonderful post!

  4. DJan Says:

    Interesting information about the indigenous peoples of Canada. I didn’t know that. The necklace is very nice, Gigi, and you’re right about how much blogging friends enrich our lives. 🙂

  5. Jeanie Says:

    Blog friends are indeed very special friends. The necklace is a wonderful gift.

  6. Joanne Says:

    Thank you. We should know these things.

  7. granny annie Says:

    As well as exchanging a lovely time, you exchanged nice gifts with each other.

  8. Grannymar Says:

    Pretty pendant.

  9. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    We have met several blogges and it has been wonderful to connect in person at least once, but we have been fortunate to meet up with several more than once and feel very fortunate. Of course, the necklace was a wonderful reminder of time spent and friendship, also liked the handmade card…penguins are a favorite here!

  10. Kay G. Says:

    What a beautiful gift! I absolutely love it and it looks great on you too. I can see how the bear paw would symbolize great power, I love that.
    And your friend Christine is a great artist too! I am so happy that you got to meet each other!

  11. Musings Says:

    Christine has excellent taste! That is such a beautiful gift. It really was fun meeting her.

  12. Linda Reeder Says:

    I like the symbolism of the necklace. Native peoples are always so in tune with their natural surroundings. Your blog friend visit sounds very successful.

  13. Glenda Beall Says:

    I visited Hawaii for the first time a couple of years ago and loved every minute I was there. If I could live in another country, I’d love to live in Canada. I’ve been there a few times and found the people to be so welcoming and interesting. This is my first time to visit your blog, but I will be back. Hope you will visit me at http://www.profilesandpedigrees.blogspot.com I live in the Appalachian Mountains of NC.

Leave a Reply

