Even when I inhale food…

Julia and Rylan were here again for the day.  Here are some photos that might tickle your funny bone.

One thing they love to do is EAT.  Their appetite for food is insatiable:

Grandkids 007-A

Grandkids 006-A

They enjoy munching on snacks while watching television:

Grandkids 011-A

Grandkids 009-A

Note Rylan’s empty plate.  He gobbled his snacks in no time:

Grandkids 010-A

Then, I turned the TV off and they played quietly with toy dishes and toy food:

Grandkids 022-A

Lisa came home and took Julia to the park after lunch, while Rylan rested for an hour.

Grandkids 017-A

You can tell that Julia got a little sunburned at the park:

Grandkids 039-A

What were you like at their age?  I remember eating a lot as a child and being as skinny as can be.  Now, my metabolism is so low that even when I inhale food, I gain weight.  So unfair!

12 Responses to “Even when I inhale food…”

  1. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Life is unfair isn’t it? The bizarre thing is that our ancestors were comparatively thin and the exercise they got had to do with home maintenance, not the gym. Lately, I’ve been reading quite a lot about the food we eat today, which is not the food our parents ate 50 years ago. All the additives and GMO grains affect some of us badly.

    Check out the book Wheat Belly. I recommend borrowing it because you might find the ‘science’ in the first half of the book off putting. I don’t agree with this doctor about removing so many grains from our diet, but I do think he’s on to something with wheat.

    Personally, although it’s expensive, we try to buy local produce and eat organic foods. As you know, I am also going gluten free.

  2. Olga Says:

    My mother was ahead of her time in her abhorrence of processed and packaged foods and she instilled some good habits. We were allowed sweets in moderation though. My mom’s reasoning was that anything that was banned would become an obsession. She was a pretty smart woman (most of the time).

  3. granny annie Says:

    We should never have stopped playing all day long:)

  4. DJan Says:

    I too agree that the quality of our food has changed as it has become more processed and farther from the source. I feel very fortunate to have a farmers’ market AND my own garden to supply organic veggies and fruits. Plus I am having fun, this year at least. 🙂

  5. Jeanie Says:

    Another one of the joys of childhood.
    I hope Julia’s sunburn isn’t too bad.

  6. Tom Sightings Says:

    I agree with granny annie … and I love Julia’s hat!

  7. dkzody Says:

    Their energy burns the calories as fast as they eat them. That’s our problem, we ingest the calories but are too sedentary. My dad ate huge meals, with lots of baked goods my mother made EVERY day. He remained rail thin, though, because he worked off every calorie. the doctor was always trying to find new ways to add calories into his diet.His suggestion was to drink a beer every day. My dad only occasionally followed that advice. He was too busy farming to stop for a beer that might make him sleepy.

  8. Christine Says:

    great that they have good appetites, I think it’s good for health at this age anyway.

  9. Linda Starr Says:

    same for me, skinny when I was young and now definitely not. I remember my brother could eat a whole loaf of white bread, he’d squish it up into gooey balls and eat it. Ugh

  10. Kay G. Says:

    I was never skinny but as soon as I hit puberty, oh my! I have struggled with my weight since then, and that was a LONG time ago! LOL!

  11. marmeladegypsy Says:

    They are simply adorable. I never was skinny — still not. But I suspect they play enough they’ll burn it off!

Leave a Reply

