Lucky to have each other

Travis Shanna wedding 001-A

Hawaii.

Since I prefer to read and write, David is very lucky that I don’t fight with him over the TV remote.  He watches television any time of the day or night without interference from me.  He enjoys movies, reality shows, the news and sports.  During all that watching, he likes to comment on what he is seeing.  For example, he’ll say, “Guess what! USA tied with Portugal,” referring to the world soccer tournament.

That’s one way I keep abreast of what is going on in the sports world.

Recently, he heard a contestant sing an aria on “America’s Got Talent.”  The next day, he mentioned it to me.

David:  “Which opera by Puccini does this aria come from?  That girl on TV sang it.”

He hummed a few bars.

Me:  “Oh, that is a hauntingly beautiful aria.  It’s from Puccini’s ‘Gianni Schicchi.’”

So, what does my husband do?  He goes to the CD cabinet and takes out several recordings of that aria, sung by different soloists.  And those renditions simply thrill him.

I think we have a good marriage.  David informs me about sports, and I inform him about music.  We are lucky to have each other.

10 Responses to “Lucky to have each other”

  1. granny annie Says:

    You seem to be a perfect fit for each other.

  2. Olga Says:

    Indeed! You make a great team.

  3. Joanne Says:

    I agree, a very compatible way to get on.

  4. DJan Says:

    You two are indeed lucky to have one another. I feel the same about my guy, who cooks and I eat. 🙂

  5. Grannymar Says:

    You are both very lucky to have each other, long may it last.

  6. Christine Says:

    You are lucky to get along so well! I don’t watch much Tv either but I do keep my family informed on the latest news lol.

  7. Christine Says:

    Heard USA had a disappointing loss but happy for Portugal!

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    So nice when you complement each other. My David has a nice tenor voice, I croak if I try to sing. He likes classical music, it depresses me. I like Jazz, especially the stuff from the 1920s.

    I like to garden, when I am able. He likes carpentry, although he does much less of it these days. He made some beautiful things for me once. Years ago, we played basketball, softball, and rode bikes together. Enjoy these activities as long as you can.

  9. Cathy Says:

    What I like Gigi is that even though you have shared interests, both of you have retained your individual likes and dislikes. So many people who have been married for a long time seem to be ‘joined at the hip’ and don’t do anything without the other one.

  10. LC Says:

    Thanks for a peek at a relationship where divergent interests strengthen and give rather than divide.

Leave a Reply

