Art exhibit by senior citizens

David and I saw a gorgeous array of framed oil paintings, created by senior citizens.  The exhibit is presented by the Mayor’s Office of Culture and the Arts.  It is open to the public from June 23 to July 17, 8:00 am to 4:30 pm daily, in Honolulu Hale’s Courtyard.  Admission is free.

This is part of the exhibit in Honolulu Hale’s Courtyard:

art exhibit 031-A

These are some of the paintings I liked:

“Cherry Blossoms” by Betty (Mew Young) Lau:

art exhibit 004-A

“Springtime Courting” by Penelope:

art exhibit 006-A

“A Kiss to God” by Maryam Pourjalali:

art exhibit 023-A

“Oh, Starry Day” by Susan Wagner (my hula classmate):

art exhibit 002-A

“Pippin” by Flo Miyahira (my dear friend, whom I have known since 1966; I already have two of her lovely paintings hanging in my home):

art exhibit 021-A

There were many other paintings that caught my eye, but these are my favorites.  You may purchase the paintings from the artists.  Be sure to pick up a program from the table and note the individual prices.  It is just amazing how much artistic talent there is in Hawaii.  Kudos to all who participated.

14 Responses to “Art exhibit by senior citizens”

  1. Flo Miyahira Says:

    Thank you for highlighting our OOPPS Club exhibit at
    Honolulu Hale. I am so glad that you and David were able to attend. This is our fifth year and we were so honored to have Mayor Caldwell and other dignitaries at our reception. Most of all, our family and friends made this occasion so special. Thank you for being there!

  2. Olga Says:

    Very nice. There is quite a lot of art activity available even in our small town. Always an inspiration.

  3. DJan Says:

    Springtime Courting is very beautiful indeed. Thanks for sharing your favorites with me, Gigi. 🙂

  4. Jeanie Says:

    I like your selections. From the first picture it looks like there was a lot of art to see in this exhibit.

  5. Christine Says:

    wow, it’s impressive work by seniors!

  6. Grannymar Says:

    It all looks very interesting.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    A beautiful place. I believe I visited this place when a traveling tour from the Avery Brundage collection (San Francisco) toured Honolulu. Seniors do great work. Must be nice to do something so rewarding when you are older. I know my friend Kathy loves her art. And does beautiful work.

  8. mageb Says:

    Nice venue, and what a lot of fun those artists had creating their works.

  9. Tom Sightings Says:

    Nice … my fave is Springtime Courting. I dunno why, but it just seems colorful and cheerful. And I agree, super venue.

  10. Kay G. Says:

    Oh! I like them all! How wonderful to have such talent.

  11. Cathy Says:

    There is certainly a lot of talent in the community as you have pointed out Gigi – one doesn’t have to be young to be able to create – it’s sad that many think that ‘seniors’ lose their ability to create as they get older – for some it just gets better!
    Cathy

  12. Suzanne Says:

    Wow! I kept thinking, “I like that one the best”. I would scroll down and think “that one is my favorite”. They are beautiful.

  13. granny annie Says:

    So much talent. Thank you for highlighting these artists.

Leave a Reply

