Quitting the horrible rat race

Travis Shanna wedding 003-A

Hawaii.

When I was employed as a legal assistant, I was always in a rush to finish things before a deadline, particularly when I was prepping for trial.  Rush, rush, rush.  I hated my job!

Now that I am retired, my life is very slow, leisurely, and relaxed.  I have no supervisor breathing down my neck, ordering me to do this and that.  I can do whatever I want whenever I want and wherever I want.  Heck, if I want to take a nap, I take a nap.  Who are you to tell me not to take a nap?

This is one of the reasons why I don’t want to be a volunteer.  It would be too much like having a job.  No thank you!

David feels the same way.  When he was employed as a comptroller, he anticipated retiring at the age of 80.  Then, it was 70.  Then, 66.  Finally, he couldn’t take the work-related stress anymore, so he abruptly resigned at the age of 64.  He then accepted a part time job as an accountant.  After almost three months of that, he quit and officially retired for good.  He has absolutely no regrets doing so.

Though we have less income, we are so much happier now.  No longer do we come home from work, feeling exhausted and depressed, or agitated and angry.  It is amazing how much better we feel.

We are so glad we quit the horrible rat race.  We aren’t rats, anymore!

13 Responses to “Quitting the horrible rat race”

  1. Cathy Says:

    So we take it you didn’t enjoy working for that company Gigi ?

    Of course the thing about volunteering is that it is not a chore, you actually choose to do it – you are giving your time and your skills to help your community and both of you will benefit from it.

  2. DJan Says:

    I loved my job but I felt it was time to move on. I also took a part time short term job but missed my busy life in retirement, so I won’t do that any more. I know how much I am enjoying doing what I want, so I understand your situation, Gigi. 🙂

  3. granny annie Says:

    I retired much earlier than planned and felt so guilty about it. Ron always said he needed to write a book about How To Retire Without Feeling Guilty. He loved retirement from the very first day.

  4. Jeanie Says:

    It sounds like you and David have made just the right decisions for yourselves at this time of your lives. I agree that it great to be past having to do what someone else tells us to do.

  5. denise Says:

    Retirement means a fixed income but no stress. I can handle that, though I keep hearing from retired friends who say, you wait, you will be as busy as ever. This statement is proving true for us.

  6. Olga Says:

    I do like the freedom to do things at my own pace, I do appreciate the fact that working for all those years afforded me the opportunity to retire and still have a fairly comfortable life.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I retired twice, once from Bell in 1989, and again from the Federal Government at age 64 in 2006. I have never looked back. I am so busy now I don’t know how I found the time to hold down a full-time job for all those years.

    I too have not found any interest in volunteering. The local library was looking for volunteers to assist people using their electronic system, but I could not bring myself to commit to a time as short as four hours a day on Tuesdays.

    Ditto other volunteer opportunities around this historic area. Perhaps I will be more inclined to become a docent again after I have my leg fixed?

  8. Christine Says:

    you are both fortunate people! I didn’t know you were a legal assistant!

  9. Tom Sightings Says:

    I passed up on volunteering for a long time myself. Then I found something (tutoring disadvantaged but motivated kids for 6 hrs. a week) that I I felt I would be good at, that I would enjoy doing, and where I felt I could have some positive impact. It IS a little like a job, but offers the good things — positive feedback, camaraderie, feeling of accomplishing something — and not the bad things about a job — stress, crazy bosses, whining employees, stupid projects. The only drawback about volunteering . . . the pay ain’t so great. But seriously, the key to volunteering is to find something you like to do, that you’d happily do for free, and then do it. If you don’t find anything like that, then don’t do it.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    I have avoided volunteer work too. All those years as an educator, giving my all for others, sort of cured me of wanting to do it for free after I retired. Tom and I are both retired teachers, so although we never had a lot of money, we did contribute to a pension that now, combined with Social Security, provides for us very well.
    We are very busy, but it’s work of our own choosing.

  11. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Gigi, we also are in full retirement moce and have been “working” or rather having fun at this stage of our lives for well over a dozen years. And, it is true as Denise said in her comment that at times we have been busier than ever, but mainkynof our own choosing. We have done some volunteering, but it is what we pick and choose.

  12. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Whoops…meant to say “mainly of our own choosing” sometimes typing on an ipad keyboard in early morning is not easy when half awake.

Leave a Reply

