Conversation with David

bird of paradise, garage 003-A

Hawaii:  Bird of Paradise.

I was telling David about seeing the famous pianist, Andre Watts, perform in Bangkok, Thailand, where I worked as an English teacher in 1969.  And, then, I lived in Europe for three months and in New York City for 5-1/2 years, where I was exposed to the best classical performers in the world.  I saw the Russian ballet dancer, Mikhail Barishnikov, the Russian cellist, Mstislav Rostropovich, and the Polish violinist, Henryk Szeryng, among others.

But, when I was a child, growing up in Hawaii, all I was exposed to were religious movies (such as “The Ten Commandments,” starring Charlton Heston as Moses) and religious ceremonies (Sunday Mass in the morning and Sunday Benediction in the evening).  My mother was a devout Roman Catholic.  Boring!

My father’s idea of a good time was taking us to the circus to see David Nelson (rock star Ricky Nelson’s brother) perform on the trapeze.  Boring!

“So, what was your childhood like?” I asked my husband.

“Oh, when I look back on my childhood, I have only positive memories,” David replied.

His father took the entire family to the Waikiki Shell several times during the 1950s.  In 1959, they saw Van Cliburn perform on the piano, a year after he won the Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow.  He is the first and only American pianist to win this competition.

The following year, David’s father again took the family to the Waikiki Shell to see Bobby Darin sing his big hits (such as “Mack the Knife”) and Ginny Tiu, the child prodigy, play the piano.

They also saw The Kingston Trio perform folk music.

All of these wonderful musicians all in their prime!  Wow!

How I wish I had experienced such exciting entertainment as a child!

This is the sort of conversation that my husband and I have these days.  We like to talk and reminisce about our lives before we met each other.

11 Responses to “Conversation with David”

  1. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    I have to agree that David’s memories of family outings do outshine yours, Gigi. I really liked Bobby Darin as well and he was so much more than a pop singer, so to seen him perform would have been way better than watching the Ten Commandments film (boring is so right).

  2. DJan Says:

    It’s funny you wrote about this now, when my husband and I have been having long conversations about our life together, and before we met. Must be something in the air. 🙂

  3. Christine Says:

    I enjoyed your conversation! Sounds like you both had happy childhoods with lots of family time. I honestly think that that helps one to build good family relationships in future.

  4. Tom Sightings Says:

    B and I only met when we were in our early 50s, so we have a lot to talk about . . . and she constantly surprises me!

  5. Joanne Says:

    I saw the Kingston Trio and a lot more when they were still making it with college gigs and a room of fifty. They were fun. Who knew.

  6. Grannymar Says:

    You were both fortunate. Illness for both my parents played a large part during my childhood, I regularly took my mother’s place to cook and clean for my father and five siblings. Never mind. It is never too late to have a second childhood and this time, I make the rules!

  7. Olga Says:

    It is good that you have both common interests and differing experiences to discuss. My mother was also a regular church lady and my Dad’s entertainment was always sports, sports, and more sports.

  8. DeniseinVA Says:

    First of all, I keep forgetting to mention how much I enjoy your photographs before each post. Always so pretty. The only classical experience I had was my Dad’s playing the piano. The music I grew up with and sometimes sang along to were all from famous operas. These are very fond memories for me. I didn’t know they were operas, just pretty music my Dad used to play. Little did I know he was sowing the seed in my young mind for my enjoyment of such things today.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    Growing up poor in rural Oregon, our music was on the radio or the TV or in church. No concerts or live performances for us.

  10. L....w Says:

    “All work and no play” characterized my childhood. I grew up in the poor section of town where neighbor kids didn’t go out with their parents to enjoy the finer things in life. I still feel stuck in that rut…maybe that’s what is my comfort zone.

  11. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I’ve met many famous people, including movie stars, but don’t think that includes any musicians, I recognize some of the names you mention, however, so I am not devoid of exposure to some of the musical greats.

Leave a Reply

