Flo’s “Pippin”

My artist-friend, Flo, gave this beautiful painting to my daughter, Lisa, for her graduation that is coming up next year.  How nice of her!  Thank you, Flo!  Lisa loves dogs, and the art goes well with the blue carpet in her bedroom.

This is Flo, holding her painting, “Pippin,” in my living room:

Flo, Ryans Grill 001-A

This dog, Pippin, is a Bichon Frisee (a poodle).  When there was a divorce between relatives, Flo offered to take care of their dog.  But because he could not get along with her Chihuahuas and was difficult to handle, Pippin was eventually given to a family in Waimanalo, where he is now thriving.  Isn’t he cute?

Flo and I later had lunch at Ryan’s Grill in Ward Center.  The food was excellent!  This is what we ordered:

Flo had the salmon with purple mash:

Flo, Ryans Grill 007-A

I had the opah with wasabi mash:

Flo, Ryans Grill 006-A

And we enjoyed the haupia (coconut) crème brulee:

Flo, Ryans Grill 009-A

Flo and I have plans to view the art deco exhibit at the Honolulu Museum of Art next month.  It’s always nice to see art with an artist, just as it is always nice to attend a symphony concert with a classical musician.

11 Responses to “Flo’s “Pippin””

  1. Joanne Says:

    Never too much crème brulee!

  2. Olga Says:

    I love those kinds of outings with friends.
    I received a painting done by a co-worker when I retired and it is a gift I treasure.

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    The Creme Brûlée would be my downfall. I love coconut! Poodles are one of the oldest dog breeds. I didn’t care for them until my granddaughter got her Ezekiel. They are very intelligent, sweet natured and quick learners too.

  4. Christine Says:

    beautiful gift, and delicious, healthy choices for food.

  5. DJan Says:

    That is a wonderful painting. You certainly have some talented friends in your circle. 🙂

    • Flo Says:

      Thank you for your comment about this painting. I enjoy painting my four-legged friends. Gigi has given me a lot of suggestions and I consider her my most avid supporter. Thank you Gigi!

    • dkzody Says:

      I was thinking the same thing, DJan. Perhaps artistic people attract artistic people.

  6. Flo Says:

    Had a great time with you at Ryan’s Grill. The pictures of our dishes look fabulous! Terrific outing and looking forward to our. Museum trip!

  7. dkzody Says:

    Your food looks really delicious. I love to go to lunch with good friends.

  8. denise Says:

    Your friend is very talented. Her painting is delightful and how sweet of her to give it to Lisa’s for her graduation, a very thoughtful gift. Yummy looking food too.

  9. Bella Rose Says:

    The dishes look yummy and interesting.

Leave a Reply

