Good times in Hawaii

Aunty Bobbie invited David and me to have dinner with her at her retirement home in Kahala.  My daughter Maria and her family were also invited.  The food was wonderful, and we all had a good time.

These are photos of us on the grounds of Aunty Bobbie’s home:

Me, Aunty Bobbie, and Maria:

Kahala Nui 003-A

Grant and Maria, and their children, Julia and Rylan:

Kahala Nui 005-A

Aunty Bobbie, Julia, and Rylan:

Kahala Nui 002-A

Aunty Bobbie is 82 years old.  Doesn’t she look great for her age?  She does not color her hair!

I have been thinking of my 70th birthday coming up in January 2016.  If all goes according to plan, I will be the first sibling in my family to reach the age of 70.

The last time I celebrated my birthday in a big way was my 40th.  It was held at Keo’s Thai Cuisine in Kapahulu.  I was just looking at photos of that 40th birthday party and noticed that several guests are now dead.  One of them was my younger brother, who died in 2003 at the age of 55.  I regret that he won’t be present for my 70th.

I love my life here in Hawaii.  I hope there will be many birthdays to celebrate.

10 Responses to “Good times in Hawaii”

  1. denise Says:

    Delightful family photos Gigi. The garden looks so pretty. Your aunt does look great for her age. I haven’t ever celebrated a milestone birthday. Maybe when I reach 70 like you.

  2. Olga Says:

    So nice to have family close by for special times. Are you planning a big party for 70? If so, I am impressed by your ability to plan ahead.

  3. Christine Says:

    That’s a really nice family visit, your aunt looks in great shape!

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Yes, your Auntie looks younger than her years. What struck me was how tall Maria has become. Very nice family photos.

  5. Suzanne Says:

    Aunt Bobbie looks great. Sorry to hear about your brother.

  6. DJan Says:

    Yes, Aunt Bobbie looks great for any age! My hair turned white while I wasn’t paying attention. 🙂

  7. Grannymar Says:

    That sounded like a wonderful family day.

  8. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Nice family shots, Gigi, and it was clear to see that Aunt Bobbie is doing very well.

  9. Bella Rose Says:

    I have a relative I also visit. She will be 100 in September. I enjoy her stories and cherish her perspective on life at 99.

Leave a Reply

