“Grandma, when you die…”

This is a drawing by my 6 year old granddaughter.  Talent can’t be taught:

Julia's art 002-A

Julia and her 4 year old brother, Rylan:

Julia's art 003-A

Rylan and I were throwing and catching his ball, when Julia intercepted the ball and began kicking it.  She wouldn’t let Rylan play with it, so he got very angry and grabbed and scratched her arm.  Julia walked over to me and showed me the three scratch marks from her brother’s finger nails.  One thing led to another, and I said, “How would you feel if either one of you died?  Wouldn’t you feel very lonely?”

Me:  “Sometimes, I feel very sad when I think of my older brother.  He died when he was still a baby.  Then, I was born.  And then, my younger brother was born, but he died later when he got very sick.”

Rylan:  “Grandma, when are you going to die?”

Me:  “I’ll die when I am good and ready.”

Rylan:  “Grandma, when you die, you will go to heaven.”

Me:  “What will I do in heaven?”

Rylan:  “You will just lie there.”

Me:  “How do you know?”

Rylan:  “Teacher said.”

Then, his sister said something about there being three levels to heaven, gold, blue, and red.  The choices you make will send you to a certain level.

I won’t argue with my grandkids.  I think they should be allowed to believe what they want to believe.

13 Responses to ““Grandma, when you die…””

  1. Olga Says:

    You ave fascinating conversations with your grand children–such agood thing to encourage.

  2. Grannymar Says:

    Maybe your grand children know more than we do, after all nobody has ever come back to say what heaven (if there is one) is all about!

  3. DJan Says:

    That is just a beautiful picture. She is very talented indeed. And nobody knows what happens after death, if anything, so sure, she can believe whatever she wants. We all do the same. 🙂

  4. Linda Starr Says:

    we’re all entitled to our own opinions about heaven especially children

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    No point in arguing about beliefs anyway. As far as I know no one has been there and back. Even atheist is don’t know.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    PS tell Julia she draws beautiful bumblebees.

  7. Bella Rose Says:

    The picture is beautiful. She does have talent! I love the things that children say. They are entertaining, refreshing, and they just say what’s on their minds.

  8. Christine Says:

    interesting conversation, lol! And a lovely picture from Julia, a happy one.

  9. DeniseinVA Says:

    Lovely picture of Julia’s. When I think of some of the conversations I had with my son, they still make me smile. I love to hear about the ones you have with your grandchildren.

  10. Suzanne Says:

    That is a beautiful drawing. I like the levels idea. I have never heard of that before.

  11. Tom Sightings Says:

    Who’s got the cutest, smartest grandkids? You do! I can say that b/c I don’t have any; but even if I did yours would be in the running!

  12. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Enjoy reading about these conversations and your grandchildren seem to have a lot of things figured out, more some adults.

  13. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Meant to say…more so than some adults. Typing on a tablet can be problematic at times.

Leave a Reply

