Peace and joy

My home is like an art gallery, because there are many paintings on my walls.  The other day, Julia (age 6) stood in front of this piece, painted by an artist in Bali, and commented on the different shades of blue:

julia and rylan 001-A

As you know, Julia loves to draw, and many of her illustrations have graced my blog.  I was very pleased that she took notice of this particular work of art without my asking her to do so.  I admire her eye for beauty.

I, too, enjoy looking at pretty things, especially man-made things that take some skill and imagination to accomplish.  Beautiful things bring peace to my often busy mind.  I might be agonizing over an altercation or quarrel between me and another person, and then suddenly, I look at a pretty picture and feel much calmer.

The same thing happens when I attend a symphony concert.  Peace and joy.

Words have a similar effect on me.  We, Koreans, have a wonderful way of saying “farewell” to each other:

“Go in peace.”  (uttered by the host)

“Stay in peace.”  (uttered by the guest)

I wish the same to all of you!

10 Responses to “Peace and joy”

  1. Olga Says:

    Your Julia does have a discerning eye! I hope that her talent will be nurtured as she goes through her school years.

  2. Cathy Says:

    I had the same thoughts as Olga about encouraging Julia and her love of art. Are there schools for talented children in Honolulu she maybe could attend when she reaches high school age?
    Cathy

  3. DJan Says:

    That is a really nice way to part, I didn’t know that Koreans did that. Your sweet Julia definitely has an eye for art. I love hers especially. 🙂

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    To recognize the subtle shades of blue tells me she has a discerning eye.

    I encouraged my granddaughter Hannah to pursue her interests in art and paid for several classes she took locally. She went on to major in art at Madison University here in VA. She continues to “do art” although lately her talents involve cooking more than any other media.

  5. Christine Says:

    Julia appreciates your beautiful paintings, all the better.

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    Julia has good taste!

  7. mageb Says:

    Good for Julia. 🙂

  8. Grannymar Says:

    Julia is a talented young lady.

  9. dkzody Says:

    i like your “goodbye” tradition. Calming words.

Leave a Reply

