When symptoms appear, don’t dawdle!

willows

This is a photo of my family taken in 2012.  If you have been following my blog, you will know who the individuals are.

David has been complaining of a clogged sinus and tinnitus in his left ear for months.  He assumed it was due to his swimming in the pool every night, so he bought non-prescription ear drops.  Well, the drops did not help, at all.  Neither did the ear plugs.

I advised David that if he had an infection, his knee replacement surgery would have to be postponed until he was completely free of an infection.  A postponement might hinder his trip to Nevada to see Lisa graduate next year.

So, David made an appointment with the ear doctor.  He saw him on Monday.

Wax was removed from his left ear.  David was told he has an ear infection to be treated with ear drops (Ofloxacin), and he also has a sinus infection to be treated with pills (Amoxicillin).  Treatment will last ten days.

If the tinnitus still lingers, he should return for a follow up with the doctor.

Just imagine, if David had seen the doctor earlier, he would not have suffered for so long.  Why do men like to self-diagnose and self-medicate?

When symptoms appear, see the doctor immediately!  Don’t wait until your condition worsens.

17 Responses to “When symptoms appear, don’t dawdle!”

  1. Olga Says:

    I do that too…minimize and wait. OR I run to the doctor only to be told I have some trivial problem that will resolve itself. It’s kind of a self-feeding vicious cycle.

  2. DJan Says:

    I know some men who you cannot drag into a doctor’s office. But David did go, and fortunately he should recover just fine. 🙂

  3. Jeanie Says:

    It is a good thing you gave David that push. I hope he feels better soon.

  4. dkzody Says:

    Awaiting a major surgery like knee replacement would probably keep me in the doctor’s office, making sure I was beyond healthy. However, for the day in, day out stuff, I’m like David. I put it off unless I am in brutal pain, as was the case with my Achilles tendon last month. When I saw my doctor she knew it was bad if I was there. She even has a note on my computer file, immediate appointment, as I’m rarely in the doctor’s office unless near death.

  5. Beatrice Says:

    My dad had many health issues recently and even almost died about 4 weeks ago – still we had to force him to go back to hospital today to continue with check-ups. I have Tinnitus as well and I treat it with Gingko!!!
    Love Beatrice

  6. Christine Says:

    Beautiful family photo, and great advice!

  7. Linda Starr Says:

    for minor stuff those day clinics aren’t that bad especially if you go early in the day, men definitely don’t like doctors it must be a macho thing. Ha. glad your survived the hurricane

  8. DeniseinVA Says:

    A lovely family photo and as far as going to the doctor, yes, get help sooner than later.

  9. Joanne Says:

    Men are from Mars, you know.

  10. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I am a big nag when it comes to health issues. Over the years, David has learned to shut me up, he must see his doctor when he is ill.

  11. Grannymar Says:

    Nice photo of happy people!

  12. tom sightings Says:

    Amen. But it’s not only men. I get my annual physicals, go to the doctor when I get an ache or pain that won’t go away. But I can only get B to the doctor if she can’t stop the bleeding. She thinks she’s immortal because her mother is 98 and still going strong.

  13. mageb Says:

    So sorry about this.

  14. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Gigi you got that right about men not seeking treatment earlier. Hope the treatment relieves David’s symptoms.

  15. joared Says:

    Earwax buildup, sometimes with subsequent hearing loss, can be so gradual that people often don’t realize it’s happening, so many don’t realize a need to have such a check until the symptoms become more severe I found in my work.

    Yes, early recognition of a sinus infection and receiving treatment as soon as appropriate is best. Learning to recognize the symptoms is important I’ve found in my experience. The problem can be it sometimes starts out as viral for which antibiotics are not effective and shouldn’t be taken I understand. Frequently the infection will later evolve into being bacterial and then the antibiotic can do its job. Keeping my sinuses open and not stopped up, especially at night when I lay down to sleep, is my challenge since the infections develop when I don’t have free air flow.

    Believe my WordPress acct. is working okay now. I had stopped trying to post on their blogs as had too many problems trying to leave comments.

  16. Hank Chapin Says:

    I don’t know if it’s a “man thing,” but I have had an itchy rash for a month and I kept expecting it to self-correct, as usually happens. After a month, I got “sick” and tired of the itch so I went to the doctor. He prescribed Prednisone and the itchy rash has already begun to vanish. Why did I wait?

  17. Hank Chapin Says:

    I definitely did dawdle, indeed I did.
    Men are from the Neanderthals. Women are from Cro-Magnons. 🙂

Leave a Reply

