When I think of Steve, I laugh!

These are flowers in our neighborhood that David photographed with his Sony camera the other day.  I cropped the photos.  They turned out well, didn’t they?  I think his $600 Sony is better than my $86 Canon PowerShot, because his pictures have more clarity.

Foster Village 005-A

I don’t know the name of these pink flowers.  Desert Rose?

Foster Village 006-A

The flowers in the lower photo resemble Singapore plumerias, but these flowers have pointed petals, whereas the plumerias I am familiar with have rounded petals.  We used to have a white plumeria tree in our yard, but the flowers could not be strung into leis, because they bruised and died too soon.  White plumerias are not as hardy as yellow plumerias, for example.  My all-time favorite is the pink plumeria, which has a pretty color and a delightful fragrance.

David took a bunch of other photos around our neighborhood that I’ll post from time to time.  He doesn’t think he will ever have a blog, because he doesn’t care to write.  He prefers to talk and listen.  Well, that simply doesn’t satisfy me.  I enjoy reading and writing, too.

Wish we could all be like Steve.  Steve who?  The Steve who bought the Los Angeles Clippers, that’s who!  What an exciting, rich and happy guy!  How would you like to buy a professional basketball team for $2 billion?  Whatever you think of that type of transaction, please don’t rain on his parade, okay?  He graduated from Harvard and was a graduate student at Stanford.  It was Microsoft that made him wealthy.  He has a wife and three children.  I admire Steve Ballmer tremendously.  Sure, he doesn’t have the power to change the world, but, boy, is he having fun!  When I think of Steve, I laugh!

11 Responses to “When I think of Steve, I laugh!”

  1. Tom Sightings Says:

    Nice photos — David has some talent there!

  2. DJan Says:

    I listened to Steve Ballmer rant on TV just once. It was enough! And that first picture is really nice, Gigi. 🙂

  3. Jeanie Says:

    Maybe David would want to do a guest post on your blog sometime. The flower pics are very nice.

  4. Christine Says:

    beautiful flowers, great idea to crop them. I love that inspiring story of Steve Ballmer, I didn’t hear that he had bought the clippers.

  5. Olga Says:

    Ah, I see you got David off the couch–with such great results.
    Maybe you could do a photography blog together–in case you have extra time on your hands.

  6. Joanne Says:

    I carry my little camera most times and my big camera occasionally. Each has its place, but the quality of the big camera pictures generally exceeds the little camera quality.

  7. Grannymar Says:

    David could have a blog of podcasts! He could begin by telling us the story behind his photos. I never heard of Steve Ballmer. In this day and age with so many people suffering and starving in this world, spending $2 billion spent on a basketball team does not ring any bells for me. I’m sorry!

  8. Lorna Says:

    The first photo is of the “desert rose” plant.

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I think the real desert rose grows in the desert. Amazes me your neighbor grows it. My grandma had the desert rose china pattern. I need to use my big camera more, but haven’t been out taking photos lately.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    I’m glad to see David got out with his camera!
    I really haven’t given Steve Balmer much thought. I do prefer out Microsoft billionaires who are more philanthropic, but I heard today Steve will be teaching in a college in CA. That’s a good thing.

  11. Suzanne Says:

    The flowers are beautiful. That would be wild to have that kind of money.

Leave a Reply

