All we have is each other

Foster Village 007-A

Hawaii:  Orchids (Photo by David).

We had dinner with family last night at Romano’s Macaroni Grill.  There were ten of us, including David’s brother’s family and our daughter Maria’s family.

Romano's 002-A

Clockwise from bottom left:  Rylan, Grant, Amanda, Julia, Maria, Shirley, Victoria, Michael, me, and David.

Time marches on.  In ten years, Julia will be 16 and learning how to drive her dad’s car.  Rylan will be 14 and his voice will have changed.  These grandkids will be so busy dealing with their teenage interests and teenage angst, they will have no time for their 78 year old grandma, if I live to be that old.

Maybe, in ten years, there will be no blog to document the passage of time.  Imagine the demise of gigi-hawaii.

Meanwhile, we do what we need to do to be happy.  I want to enjoy the rest of my life, every bit of it.

According to the media, one in six people living in the USA is eligible for food stamps.  That’s more than 50 million people who are at the poverty level.  Talk about misery.

David and I are poor, but not that poor.  We are rich, but not that rich.  Would you call us “middle class”?  I like to think so.

It helps to be married and to be close to family, who can help us when we are in need.  It helps to have good friends, too.  Ultimately, all we have is each other.

8 Responses to “All we have is each other”

  1. DJan Says:

    The thing that gets me is how quickly those ten years will pass. Remember when we were young and that decade would take forever? And yes, you’re right that all we have is each other. The young ones grow and change and eventually leave to live their own lives. But you have a nice family to appreciate in the here and now. 🙂

  2. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    So true, and time goes by quickly.

    You asked about TKR for David? Share with him he needs to ask his doc how long the replacement knee will last. I put the surgery off as long as I could. Don’t want to go through this in my 90s, with a replacement for the replacement, should I live so long.

  3. DeniseinVA Says:

    A lovely gathering of the family and your orchids are very pretty. I walked by some today and wondered if I could keep them alive if I bought them. I don’t exactly have a green thumb! I think the older we get the more time seems to fly.

  4. L....w Says:

    I don’t think that number (1 in 6) will get better. It will only get worse as more jobs are lost due to technology (think robotics, nanotech, 3D printing, driverless cars)…in the next 5 years, the number and kind of jobs available will change drastically. I don’t know if everyone will make the transition to the new economy. However, I do think it will be a better world for those who are able to adapt. The question I have is will the government be able to permanently subsidize this transition? Next will come a guaranteed subsidy for every person. If the Feds don’t normalize soon that amount could be staggering. Asset inflation just begets all other inflation IMHO.

  5. Joanne Says:

    And, amen. Lovely family.

  6. Suzanne Says:

    Time does march fast. It is best to enjoy everyone we can while we can.

  7. granny annie Says:

    One day at a time:)

  8. Tom Sightings Says:

    Ten family members around the dinner table — you are very rich indeed.

Leave a Reply

