Calm and cool under pressure

Foster Village 016-A

Hawaii:  Plumbago (photo by David).

I babysat my grandson for 2-1/2 years from the time he was five months until he was almost three years old.  He was quite the leader.

Two year old Rylan would say, “Grandma, let’s go outside and pick up rubbish.”  We would go out in the front yard and he would drag dead palm branches to the green bin for disposal.  Then, we would wash our hands in the bathroom.  This continued for about two months.

One day, Rylan said, “Grandma, you pick up the rubbish and I’ll stay here and watch.”  He stood on the porch steps and supervised.  I asked him, “Why don’t you want to help me?”  He replied, “I don’t want to wash my hands.”

Oh, okay.

Another time, I was humming a tune and he said, “Stop, Grandma, stop.”  That’s because I was interfering with his television show.

What a boss!

During the time he was with me, my grandson more or less called the shots.  He never cried or got upset with me, because he usually got his way.  Besides, he was such a great kid, he didn’t need to be disciplined.

Now, Rylan is in preschool and must learn how to get along with his peers and his teachers.  Not everyone wants him to be their leader.  I hope he is calm and cool under pressure.

12 Responses to “Calm and cool under pressure”

  1. granny annie Says:

    You make lovely memories for Julia and Rylan in your home.

  2. Joanne Says:

    Watching them grow is a pleasure.

  3. DJan Says:

    He is also smart, so he’ll figure it out. I love your stories about your grandkids. 🙂

  4. DeniseinVA Says:

    I love the conversations you have with your grandchildren. Each stage is such a pleasure to read about. I hope Rylan’s first experiences at school will be a joy.

    Your plumbago bush is gorgeous by the way.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    What a clever boy he is…getting Grandma to pick up the rubbish. We were supposed to get green bins at the end of July, but one of the dumb-ass and super rich residents sued the county, so it’s on hold. Grrrr!

  6. Christine Says:

    David takes the best photos! And I do believe kids show their personality traits from an early age! Leader Rylan is and will be!

  7. dkzody Says:

    Love the way he got you to do the work. Sounds very much like a little boy! Our granddaughter is pretty bossy. Our daughter says she comes home from kindergarten, tired and grumpy, and ready to argue with my daughter. I laugh because this sounds just like our daughter at that age.

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    I have to laugh. It kind of reminds me of my granddaughter. She can be pretty bossy too.

  9. Cathy Says:

    I wonder if he will appreciate your memories of these traits when he is older lol.

    You will have to watch out that Rylan’s confidence and bossiness doesn’t deteriorate into anger and bullying. Some youngsters don’t take too kindly to the laughing treatment – they need a more subtle, less confronting approach

  10. Olga Says:

    I am sure he will adjust nicely. He sounds like a smart, resilient, and confident little guy.

  11. L...w Says:

    Rylan is such an adorable, cute kid and very smart. He has leadership qualities all right!!

    • L...w Says:

      BTW…your last sentence and title of your blog entry is an interesting one…if I can manage to understand what you mean I might learn the secret to raising great kids 🙂

Leave a Reply

