Be pro-active, buddy!

Foster Village 008-A

Hawaii.  Photo by David.

Two months ago, I made my list for Costco and included “color ink cartridges for the printer.”  David crossed it off and said, “Later.”

Well, guess what, the other day he wanted to print something, but could not because the yellow ink was gone.  He went to Office Max, as it was closer than Costco, and bought a yellow ink cartridge.  He came home and inserted it into the printer, but still could not print because now the magenta ink was gone.  So, back to Office Max he went and bought magenta and blue.  He returned home, inserted the cartridges and was finally able to print.

Man, what an idiot!  He spent much more at Office Max than he would have at Costco, not to mention he wasted his time and energy.  Why did he procrastinate?  If you know you will have to buy ink eventually, buy it now at Costco.  Why risk not having it when you need it?

Why put off until tomorrow what you can do today?

Be pro-active, buddy!

17 Responses to “Be pro-active, buddy!”

  1. Kay G. Says:

    Oh dear. Funny you should write of printers and cartridges…Richard decided that the printer must have died, and went out a bought a new printer! Okay, now to print….no, nothing doing. It had a new cartridge, so it couldn’t be that! He tried everything, finally, he tried another cartridge that he had…the new cartridge was a DUD! So…the older printer must have been okay! AHHHHH!!!
    Oh well, live and learn! 😉

  2. Joanne Says:

    I’m with you. Always keep the replacement set on hand.

  3. Jeanie Says:

    I think it was probably a good thing for David that it was him trying to print something when there was no ink instead of you. 🙂

  4. Olga Says:

    You two are so funny. I had that thought as well–good thing he was the one who wanted to print. Do you have hope that next time he will feel or act any differently?

    • gigihawaii Says:

      The reason why I air my dirty laundry on my blog is that David will definitely take notice and change his ways. Whereas, if I nag orally, he will simply not listen. In one ear and out the other. He is a visual person. He will remember what he reads, not what he hears.

  5. L...w Says:

    Sometimes being a proactive buyer leads to storage space problems. See my stack of toilet paper rolls which I buy every time the price dips below .20 per roll. Maybe that’s what David had in mind??

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Nah, cartridges don’t take much space. David just didn’t want to spend money “unnecessarily,” thinking he could postpone the inevitable day when we would need the ink. He was foolish, because he ended up paying more somewhere else.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Aim high in steering. Don’t wait until your there to act. My motto!

  7. Christine Says:

    I think like you!

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    I’m not familiar with having to buy individual color cartridges. Our printers have always used just one black and one multicolored.
    We bought a new printer/copier/scanner this summer, and I love it. I really need to take some time to see what it does with photos and photo editing.

  9. granny annie Says:

    I buy my ink cartridges on eBay for very low prices. I only have to buy one “color” cartridge and one “black” cartridge. I cannot imagine having to buy separate color cartridges for each color. Meanwhile as soon as I load new cartridges in my printer I order another set so that I never run out. It is awful to have a beautiful photo to print and no ink.

  10. Tom Sightings Says:

    Funny . . . and, sorry, I was going to comment earlier, but I just didn’t get around to it!

  11. Musings Says:

    Then again, I have a bunch of left over ink because my color printer died and we decided not to replace it. We just keep a black and white laser printer.

  12. Juicy J Says:

    Gigi, did you know Costco refills inkjet printer cartridges? Its a lot cheaper than buying new ones!

Leave a Reply

