Experimenting with a wok

Never buy a Teflon coated wok.  I did and regretted it when bits of Teflon came off during cooking.  The last thing you would want is black bits mixed with your food.  Ugh.

So, I bought a stainless steel electric wok from Target.com.  I am just so happy right now and I wonder why I waited so long to order it online.  No longer will I see black bits of Teflon in my food.

The stainless steel electric wok is fully washable and can be cleaned in your dishwasher (without the master heat control panel).

Here’s my new wok with a glass lid, three handles, and a master heat control panel:

Wok 004-A

Last night, I experimented and made VEGETARIAN PAELLA (rice with vegetables).

Paella 008-A

Here’s my recipe:

STIR FRY (350 degrees F):

1 small 6.5 oz. jar of marinated artichoke hearts (include the marinade, which contains olive oil, vinegar, salt and spices) Don’t use the kind with water only.

Some sliced sundried tomatoes

1 chopped white onion

1 chopped red bell pepper

1 chopped green bell pepper

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

MIX AND COOK THOROUGHLY.

ADD:

2 cups cooked rice

TOSS.  Enjoy.

18 Responses to “Experimenting with a wok”

  1. denise Says:

    Delicious recipe Gigi, thank you! Your new wok looks lovely. I agree with you on the Teflon-coated pans. I had several go that way and it took a very knowledgeable sales person to recommend a pan that I have been very happy with for a couple of years now.

  2. granny annie Says:

    I do not own a wok but have been tempted to get one and now you tempt me more with that delicious dish. At least I will know not to get a Teflon coated one.

  3. DJan Says:

    Looks delicious, Gigi! Congratulations on purchasing that new wok. I haven’t used teflon for ages, and I’m glad to know there are other options out there these days. 🙂

  4. Christine Says:

    your recipe sounds delicious, thanks for sharing! Sounds like a defective teflon pan. I use one I bought from Costco, it’s more of a frying pan and it seems fine. But stainless defiinitely sounds healthier. I made fried sticky rice this weekend with chinese sausages, it turned out great.

  5. Olga Says:

    Mmmm. All the right ingredients! I have an old wok for my stove and I love it, but it looks well loved as well. i should get an electric one for the place in Florida where I have a glass top stove instead of gas.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Looks delicious. I have tried every kind of wok. And not been very successful. I suppose it’s like anything else practice makes perfect. Your recipe looks tasty.

  7. L...w Says:

    Why is a good wok so hard to find? We make do with a stainless steel, extra large flat bottom frying pan (not wok) from Macy’s.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I have 2 steel frying pans, but a wok is best for stir fry. I like the sloping sides of a wok better than the vertical sides of a pan.

      • L...w Says:

        lol…I guess that’s why they sell electric wok appliances. My mother used an electric frying pan to cook and serve Chicken Hekka at the dinner table, thought that’s what electric woks were for…guess there will never be a perfect wok for the electric stove, worse are those glass top burners.

  8. Tom Sightings Says:

    My mouth is watering!

  9. Snoskred Says:

    I will like to mention I have two stainless frypans and the best oil I have found for cooking is coconut oil. Nothing ever sticks when I use that. 😉

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    That is a good looking wok. I have a big old steel wok that I use on the stove. I like cooking in it too.

  11. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Our wok is also stainless, Gigi, and we enjoy it too but it is not an electric one. I liked the glass top on yours which is an attractive feature to let you see how the mealmis cooking, which BTW looked wonferful and so simple too…my kind of meal prep,

  12. dkzody Says:

    That’s a great looking wok. I’m sure you’ll get many years of delicious dishes from it. Once upon a time, when I entertained a lot, I had an electric wok, but unlike yours, mine did not go in the dishwasher. As the years have passed, I buy nothing that can’t be put in the dishwasher.

  13. LC Says:

    Tasty and healthy. Your new purchase is a winner. Happy cooking!

  14. Linda Starr Says:

    I recently switched to all stainless steel and got rib of all teflon; never heard of an electric wok, I just might have to get one of those.

Leave a Reply

