“The best movies have one star”

Lisa, David, me-A

Hawaii:  Lisa, me, and David in February 2014.

Time to reminisce about my younger daughter, Lisa.  I have many fond memories of her childhood.  She was so different from her older sister, Maria.  Maria tended to be hyperactive, whereas Lisa was sedentary.  Maria had a short attention span, whereas Lisa could focus on something for an extended period of time.

Example:  movies.

When Maria was two years old, she would not sit still in the theater, no matter which movie was showing.  She constantly wanted to go to the bathroom or would play with her seat, flipping it up and down.

Lisa, on the other hand, would sit still for the duration of the movie, absorbing everything.  We were watching “Charlotte’s Web,” and when the spider was dying, I heard sniffles.  I looked at Lisa, and there she was, weeping, tears rolling down her face.  I was amazed that a two year old could follow the plot and empathize with a spider.  Wow!

Lisa loved the movies, particularly those that got poor ratings.  When we told her we would rather see a movie that had received a five star rating, she replied, “The best movies have one star.”

She would insist that we take her to these lousy movies, which we did simply because we loved her.  Remember “Mutant Ninja Turtles”?  She really enjoyed that one.

Now, of course, Lisa is a graduate student in Nevada.  I wonder if she has time for the movies.

17 Responses to ““The best movies have one star””

  1. Christine Says:

    Lovely memories, it is interesting how different siblings can be from each other.

  2. Tom Sightings Says:

    Cute … and it’s amazing, isn’t it, how two kids with the same parents, living in the same house, can have such different personalities, interests, tastes, etc. Go figure.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      My daughters are different genetically, because Maria had a different father (my former boyfriend) before I married David. However, David is the only father she has ever known.

  3. Joanne Says:

    Children are so different–fortunately.

  4. DJan Says:

    How sweet! I also cried over the spider. But then again, I always cry at movies. 🙂

  5. mageb Says:

    Lovely.

  6. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    My style in movie watching would be more like Lisa’s and I always wait for the credits to stop rolling as well.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Charlotte’sWeb is very sad. My kids loved it too. E.B. white (author) worked for the New Yorker when it was a very fine magazine.

  8. DeniseinVA Says:

    That’s so sweet and I remember sniffling at Charlotte’s Web. My son and I went and saw a lot of movies together when he was young, and he still takes his mom to one occasionally.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    I just realized I have never seen the movie version of Charlotte’s
    Web. I have always loved the book.
    I do love Lisa’s verdict that the best movies have one star. I guess maybe for kids that’s true.

  10. L...w Says:

    It seems Maria turned her antsiness into an asset…jugglling being a math teacher, department head, mother of two young children and wife. Lisa’s empathy and deep appreciation of others will help her succeed in her career as a physical therapist.

    • L...w Says:

      I think Lisa’s words, your blog entry title, is so cute yet profound. It reminds me of Neil Young’s advice – to embrace failure (so you can be in the driver seat,) Seems counterintuitive, but illustrates the same message – best movies have one star.

  11. granny annie Says:

    I wonder if she is happy that the Mutant Ninja Turtles are making a comeback. lol

  12. Linda Starr Says:

    so interesting that she like the one star movies. Lisa sounds like she finds the good in every thing and roots for the underdog.

  13. marmeladegypsy Says:

    I’ve seen some OK one-star movies. But not many! Of course, age changes things! I remember not long ago, two of the kids at the table saying “Anchorman was the best movie EVER MADE!” Now, I like Will Ferrell well enough but the BEST EVER? I don’t think so!

Leave a Reply

