The Greek Marina

It was a beautiful sunny day, so David and I decided to drive across town to have lunch at the Greek Marina, which is located in the Koko Marina Shopping Center. It was the second time we have dined there:

Greek Marina 001-A

This is the marina next to the restaurant:

Greek Marina 003-A

We started with Dolmades (grape leaves stuffed with rice, tomato and spices). We had already eaten two before I remembered to photograph the food:

Greek Marina 004-A

Another appetizer we ordered was Spanakopita (spinach and feta cheese, baked in filo dough):

Greek Marina 006-A

For his main entrée, David ordered Gyros (beef and lamb):

Greek Marina 007-A

For my main entrée, I ordered Moussaka (eggplant and ground meat):

Greek Marina 008-A

Finally, the dessert, Baklava (filo dough with honey and nuts):

Greek Marina 009-A

Too much salad?  This is the closest we will ever get to experiencing Greek cuisine. I wonder how authentic it is.

Have you been to Greece or eaten Greek cuisine?

24 Responses to “The Greek Marina”

  1. Tom Sightings Says:

    It all looks scrumptious to me (except the eggplant … not a fan).

  2. dkzody Says:

    It’s a fair representation for Greek food in a restaurant. We have a large Greek population here in the Valley and they have a big festival every year that serves lots of authentic Greek dishes. Lots of lamb is served. The salads you had are very traditional. We all eat Greek summer salads here in the Valley.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      There’s a Greek festival here in Hawaii, but we have never gone to one because of the parking situation.
      I personally have met only two Greeks in my lifetime, believe it or not.

  3. Grannymar Says:

    The food looks terrific. I am only home from a few weeks with family, the weather was wonderful and we lived on a variety of salads, no two were the same. Yum, yum!

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Once upon a time I could make most of these dishes. I love Greek food. Baklava is wonderful.

  5. Christine Says:

    food looks great and authentic. I have been to Greece and eat Greek food all the time, quite delicious. In fact I have some shishkebabs from Costco planned for dinner tonight, just heat and eat.

  6. Suzanne Says:

    It looks authentic to me. We have some really good ones in Virginia and it looks like what we get. Yummy!

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Gigi, I would advise David to put off the knee replacement surgery as long as he can. This has been much more difficult than recovering from hip replacement surgery. I just pray I can walk normally again.

  8. DJan Says:

    I enjoy a Greek salad at a local restaurant, and it must be pretty authentic, since it looks very much like your salad. I love it because two of my favorite things in salads are olives and feta cheese. 🙂

  9. Olga Says:

    Yummy! I really like Greek food.

  10. granny annie Says:

    It has been years ago since I went to a Greek restaurant in Chicago and I don’t remember anything looking that good.

  11. DeniseinVA Says:

    Your meal looks lovely. No I have never been to Greece but it is a place I have always wanted to see. I don’t think I have ever eaten authentic Greek food, though have eaten gyros but not sure how authentic those are compared to say if you were actually in Greece. Hopefully one day I will find out.

  12. Beatrice Says:

    Greek cuisine is very popular in Germany as many Greeks live here.
    We get athentic food here; I know this as I have been many times in
    Greece ❦
    Beatrice

  13. Bella Rose Says:

    I love Greek food, especially Dolmades!

  14. Linda Starr Says:

    omg, my mother was half Greek and I can’t get enough Greek food, looks delicious and overlooking the water sublime.

  15. marmeladegypsy Says:

    This looks like tons of food. I adore Greek food!

Leave a Reply

