“Sexy” conducting

Symphony 003-A

Hawaii Symphony Orchestra last Sunday.

Well, the verdict is in. We prefer sitting in Section C of the orchestra (ground floor) to sitting in the nosebleed section of the balcony.  No need to climb those arduous stairs.  The acoustics were excellent.  What I really liked was not having someone’s big head in front of me, blocking my view of the stage.  I hope this continues for the rest of the season.

Something new was added: Modern ballet, performed by the Onium Ballet Project.  This is a group of talented Hawaii dancers (two men and three women), who danced to Britten’s “Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes.”  Great choreography!

As for the music? Awesome!  I especially loved the last piece, Ravel’s “Bolero.”  Excellent conducting, which was almost “sexy” to watch.  I enjoyed seeing the conductor, Stuart Chafetz, actually “feel” and move to the lush music.  The audience did, too, rewarding the performance with a standing ovation.

Overall, David and I had a wonderful time at this concert. It was an evening well spent and very gratifying.  And, again, no horrible stairs to climb!

18 Responses to ““Sexy” conducting”

  1. DJan Says:

    Yay! It looks like it was a wonderful evening, and congratulations for getting those new and better seats! I love Bolero, too. Now it’s running in my head. 🙂

  2. Christine Says:

    So glad you got better seats, sounds like you had a lovely time.

  3. Joanne Says:

    I’d never thought of conducting as sexy, but I’ve often appreciated how intense it can be. Never made the connection.

  4. Jeanie Says:

    I’m glad you got the better seats so you can appreciate your love of the music even more.

  5. Olga Says:

    This sounds like a wonderful experience and your ability to appreciate the full range of the production demands the better seating.

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    I’m glad you found a spot that you enjoy. The concert sounded wonderful. Ravel’s Bolero is one of my favorites.

  7. Linda Starr Says:

    ee gads it’s been eons since I was at a concert or ballet, I would have been in heaven, used to go when I lived in San Francisco and the SF bay area quite often, one of these days.

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Years ago, I had a friend who loved ‘Bolero.’ She also hated her neighbor who hated this music. Doris used to put the music on the speaker and turn it up as loud as she could to annoy the neighbor. Fortunately, they lived in the boondocks, so only Lauren could hear the noxious music. Even today four decades later, I think of them when I hear this music.

    David like Russian music. I know when I am away he will crank up the speakers and blast the neighbors, probably with Tschaikovsky.

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    1812 overture of course!

  10. mageb Says:

    You may have a handicapped section in the orchestra area for a lower price. We like that here.

  11. Hank Chapin Says:

    Hart Crane, the great American poet, used to listen to a record of Ravel’s “Bolero” when he was writing. It supported his inspiration.

  12. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Glad you were able to enjoy the concert closer up and without climbing hugh. Based on your post, we can expect to only hear about more fun experiences, Gigi.

  13. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Sounds wonderful — and I quite agree on the seating!

Leave a Reply

