Thank goodness!

plants Home Depot 004-A

Hawaii. Photo by Gigi.

Two big news items have been dominating our local newspaper lately:

  1. Lava from Kilauea Volcano is flowing towards Pahoa on the Big Island. There is a chance the lava will flow over the main highway, thereby cutting off residents from the rest of the island. Crews have been trying to clear unpaved roads for residents to use in case that happens.
  2. The mayor of Honolulu has signed into law three bills, which make it illegal for the homeless to sit or lie on public sidewalks in Waikiki (a tourist mecca) and to urinate or defecate in public places anywhere on the island of Oahu. The homeless will be taken from Waikiki to a transitional shelter on Sand Island before being given permanent lodging elsewhere.

I am so grateful that I don’t have to deal with either issue in my neighborhood. Every year, I donate money to the American Red Cross (Hawaii chapter) and to IHS (the largest homeless shelter in Hawaii).  They do good work and need our support.

There was a time when I coordinated chili and rice dinners for the homeless at IHS. Safeway’s general manager donated the ingredients.  I had volunteers from my church help me cook and serve the food.  A children’s choir from church provided the dinner music.  Very nice effort by everyone.  It benefited the homeless, and it was rewarding for the volunteers, as well.

The volcanoes on Oahu, where I live, are extinct. They will never erupt, so I don’t have to worry about lava encroaching on my neighborhood.

Thank goodness! Count your blessings!

17 Responses to “Thank goodness!”

  1. Granny Annie Says:

    The homeless and lava are a lot alike. They can spread everywhere. It was so shocking for me to be in LA and see the streets lined with homeless people.

  2. Christine Says:

    Wow those are big news items Gigi, we were flying over volcanos at big island in May in a helicopter and it was very quiet then.

  3. Joanne Says:

    The volcano was active in the eighties, too. A friend who lives there sent me pictures.

  4. DJan Says:

    Hawaii does sound like a wonderful place to live. Homeless are rampant in every large city here. It’s very sad to see, but it was wonderful that you helped out when you were younger. 🙂

  5. Suzanne Says:

    I met someone that moved to Maui after their house got wiped out by the lava on the Big Island. That is some wild stuff.

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    Two very important issues in their own way. I hope that the lava situation calms down soon and no one will lose their homes. As for the homeless, there are many in Washington DC as you might have noticed when you were here. It is a sad situation as many of them are mentally ill. I hope that something can be done for them It sounds like your mayor is trying hard.

  7. L...w Says:

    I don’t go to the beaches any more because I think it may be contaminated. Where else are the homeless to urinate and defecate but bury it in the ground somewhere, the easiest being in the sand. Thanks for sharing your volunteer efforts to help the homeless…which is so admirable and you put your money where your thoughts are at least.

    • L...w Says:

      I should say the beaches I am talking about are in my neck of the woods…I do feel guilty that I don’t do more to help. Giving to IHS is a good idea. I did that long ago, maybe it is time to start again. Homelessness will get worse unless more is done.

      • gigihawaii Says:

        It would be so gross to sit on the beach and see human waste there. Ugh!
        More public restrooms should be built, and they should be cleaned on a daily basis, too.

  8. mageb Says:

    I’m so sorry it’s gotten so bad there.

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Disgusting bums. That’s what we see on TV here. Many are youngsters on the dole. I think too many people are willing to take a handout rather than a hand up and don’t want to work. Unfortunately, Hawaii seems to have become a magnet for drifters of different stripes. The perfect climate makes it easier to live outside all year.

    As for the lava flows, who can stop Mother Nature? No one!

  10. marmeladegypsy Says:

    I’m always a little relieved when I know that even though something might be happening that I can help as opposed to be in the thick of the mess. I feel for the homeless — we see a lot of panhandling here, too. But it’s not easy to have what others do have — and I feel continually grateful for the gifts I do have.

Leave a Reply

