Lots going on

Hawaii: My neighbor’s orchids.  (Photos by Gigi):

Foster Village 003-A

Foster Village 003-B

Don’t those pretty orchids perk you up? I love to look at beautiful things.  They brighten my mood and make me smile.

Today is Saturday. David and I will be watching a college football game on TV at 8:00 am, Hawaii vs. Colorado, which is being played in Boulder.  I hope our team wins, but it is predicted that it won’t.  Alas!  I realize it is just a game, but still…  Anyway, I would love to see views of Boulder, because I have never been there.

Tonight, we will be attending my 50th high school class reunion.  How time flies!  I can’t believe fifty years have elapsed since I graduated from high school.  I am looking forward to seeing my former classmates – such as my ex-boyfriend, whom I dated during my junior and senior years.  He is a dentist, much shorter than my husband.  You all know how I prefer tall men.

Yesterday, my grandkids came to my home for the day. It’s always nice to see them.  I do think that I am a better grandmother than I was a mother.  More patient, perhaps?  Of course, it may be due to the fact that I don’t have to raise them on a daily basis.  I see them occasionally.  Absence makes the heart grow fonder.  Or so it seems.

My life is full, and I am very happy.

18 Responses to “Lots going on”

  1. Kay G. Says:

    I can feel your gratitude in this post! Lovely orchids, thanks for sharing.

  2. Olga Says:

    Beautiful orchids.
    We all are better grandmothers than mothers–it’s a much easier job (unless you are actually raising the grand kids as some grandparents do).

  3. Christine Says:

    Beautiful orchids, stunning colour! You are keeping very busy with fun things, wow, fifty years! I am sure some have not survived. Must be interesting to see how everyone has been doing.

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I am happy to hear you are so contented today Gigi. Amazing isn’t it how time flies. Connie will be 53 next Wednesday. Gosh, I remember when she was born.

  5. DJan Says:

    You sound very happy indeed, Gigi. I hope you take pictures at your reunion; it will be fun to see your former classmates. 🙂

  6. tom sightings Says:

    Orchids are beautiful; grandkids are great … mmm, not a football fan here.

  7. Granny Annie Says:

    I don’t follow sports so hope your team won. Glad you are happy with your tall man. I go to my 50th in October. Sadly my high school sweetheart is one that we will memorialize.

  8. Grannymar Says:

    Those orchids are a very pretty colour.

  9. L...w Says:

    Time sure flies!! Hopefully one day we’ll be alive to celebrate our 50th anniversary too.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    There are some events that remind us of our aging, like 50th reunions. I remember wondering who all those old people were when i attended mine.

  11. LC Says:

    The beauty of those orchids is truly a spirit lifter. Grandkids come with all the fun and without much of the responsibility that our own came with. It is evident that yours love visiting with you.

  12. Bella Rose Says:

    I love the orchids. College football is a favorite of mine too. I like to follow the UVA and Virginia Tech games. VT always has the better football season of the two schools.

  13. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Those orchids are fabulous! Wonderful photos!

Leave a Reply

