Free, free at last!

Foster Village 022-A

Hawaii: Jade plant (David’s photo).

September is our hottest month of the year, whereas January is our coldest. How does 90F grab you?  And it is humid, too.  The air is so thick and dense that you could slice it with a knife.

Friends have told me that to cool off, they go to the movie theater or stay inside an air conditioned store. That’s not something David and I have to do.  Back in 1997, we air conditioned our whole house, and it was the best thing we ever did.  So, while others swelter, we are cool and dry.

It’s quite peaceful around here, and we are stress-free. Always try to reduce stress, because it can kill you just as much as a bad diet can.

As I perused the Memory Book, which I bought at my 50th high school class reunion last Saturday, I noticed so many alumni mentioning in their biography that their job had been very stressful.  They were overjoyed when they could finally retire and relax.

David and I feel the same way. After being slaves for so long, we are free, free at last!

Best of all, we can afford to live here in paradise. We appreciate the fine things that Hawaii has to offer:  cultural diversity, racial harmony, modern medicine and modern conveniences.

What’s not to like about our life and our home?

18 Responses to “Free, free at last!”

  1. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Thankfully, most of the very hot and humid summer days are gone here on the VA eastern shore, Gigi, but then can be downright miserable too. We also put in central AC as well as ceiling fans after buying this 1906 home and Just as glad as you are. Yes, it is great to be cool and living stress free, most of the time.

  2. granny annie Says:

    Do you read Kay at Musings? She is also from Hawaii and her post about the humidity yesterday was fascinating. As much as we all envy the lifestyle of another in every part of the country, there is still no place like home:)

  3. Olga Says:

    You have found the secret to contentment and a happy life! Appreciation for what you have.

  4. Tom Sightings Says:

    I love the heat and humidity myself. I remember going to Denver, and everyone was oohing and aahing over the clear crisp air. I could hardly breathe … until my plane landed back in Newark, the door opened, and I pulled in great lungfuls of wonderful, dirty, moist New Jersey air. Air you can see. That’s the way I like it!

  5. DJan Says:

    I also have been retired for awhile now and enjoying every minute of being able to do my own thing, not work for someone else! 🙂

  6. Christine Says:

    you are indeed very lucky, but I think you’re smart too, not all luck, good choices made.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    That has to be the tallest Jade plant I’ve seen. They are wonderful plants.

    I always thought Honolulu was a ‘tropical’ version of Washinton DC. The cultural diversity, the embassies, the superior medical service etc.

    My son and his wife air conditioned their home in San Diego. Mostly, the weather is nice there, however, some days are hot.

  8. DeniseinVA Says:

    You and David have many blessings Gigi. I had no idea that September would be the hottest month. The photo of the jade plant is lovely.

  9. Kay G. Says:

    The only thing that would make your life any better is to welcome a visitor to your Hawaiian paradise…like me!! HA! Just kidding! But I do hope to make it to Hawaii one day! 🙂

  10. Suzanne Says:

    I saw Kanaha, Maui broke a record at 95 last week. Wow! It is starting to get wet and cool on the East Coast.

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    You are indeed fortunate.

  12. Linda Starr Says:

    wow I didn’t realize it was so humid in Hawaii

  13. L...w Says:

    We are those who don’t use A/C at home…yes it is not as comfortable as using a ceiling fan and trying to keep cool with cold drinks and having a towel around your neck to wipe the sweat (I can imagine your disgust as you read this:)) But it is a luxury to have the A/C running all day (even at night). Lucky you!!

  14. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Isn’t it wonderful to retire and be happy? I am completely convinced that the stress of my job had a major impact on my health. Since retiring, I haven’t been sick yet!

Leave a Reply

