An accountant forever

Hawaii: Photos by David.  How is it possible for purple and white flowers to grow on the same branch, same plant?  Any botanists out there?

Foster Village 012-A

Foster Village 014-A

I have to laugh at my husband, who was an accountant and comptroller for many years. He’s retired, now, but he still loves to compose spreadsheets on the computer.

As you know, David and I have separate bank and credit card accounts. However, we split the joint monthly bills.  He pays the grocery and restaurant bills, and I pay the utility bills, home insurance premium, property tax, and everything else.  We try to balance the payments, so that one person does not pay more than the other.  This arrangement has worked well for us.

Anyway, every chance he gets, David goes to the computer and creates spreadsheets to figure out the monthly budget and billings and receivables. Typical accounting work.

It’s not the end of the month, yet, but he told me he owes me $6.50, because so far I have paid more for our joint bills than he has.

Hey, I can’t and won’t argue with a spreadsheet, so I’ll gladly take the $6.50.

David will never change. He will be an accountant forever!

P.S.  Blogger Linda Starr informed me that the flowers shown above are called Yesterday, Today, and Tomorrow.  They start out purple, then change to lavender, and then white.  Fascinating!  Thank you, Linda!

17 Responses to “An accountant forever”

  1. Olga Says:

    No, never argue with a spreadsheet!
    Mike and I had a joint checking account, but Mike made a spread sheet that kept track of our money individually. He could add and subtract from either side (we each paid for our own hobbies) but household payments could be automatically divided in half and subtracted from both our sides. Mike wasn’t even an accountant.

    I had to get a spreadsheet that would keep track of just my own checking account this past year. It is not as fancy as what Mike made, but it keeps my balance accurate.

  2. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Around here we have a similar arrangement. We were both working adults when we married, and I like my Independence. David was an economics major and engineer, and I a demographer, who managed other economists and worked in the Finance Dept. For Verizon.

    Today, I handle the household accounts, taxes, etc. I pay the household bills from my account or a joint account, and he shops for groceries. If we eat out, we go Dutch. David’s memory ain’t what it once was, so it’s better if I am the household accountant. If keeping accounts works for your David, that’s great.

  3. Christine Says:

    We do joint finances. Interesting to know what works for everyone.

  4. Joanne Says:

    Love spreadsheets. Love knowing THE ANSWERS!

  5. DJan Says:

    We have a similar arrangement. We pay the bills so that each of us has about the same amount of discretionary money. It works well for us, too! 🙂

  6. Grannymar Says:

    When my husband was alive we shared everything 50/50, that included accounts and money. I remember in the early days he teased me that if a woman could not look after the money, then she was not worth marrying!

    For the past sixteen years, I have managed all the financial affairs. I do remember meeting a lady after her husband died – he was a bank manager who controlled all their money – She did not know how to write a cheque! It was before the days of debit and credit cards or online banking. She never learned to drive either and had to depend on people to fetch and carry her everywhere.

  7. dkzody Says:

    And the reason I would never make it as an accountant. I never wanted to teach accounting, either. When the accounting teacher retired, we dropped the course from the department offerings as NONE of us who remained wanted to teach it. If it’s close enough, it’s okay by me. Terry and I split the bills, also the chores, but we don’t quibble over who has paid the most or least.

  8. L...w Says:

    Lately, I’ve also started some Works spreadsheets to dissect our food purchases to see where I can trim unnecessary spending (trying to identify what our real budget is vs. theoretical before we pull the plug on work and call ourselves retired). As I’ve gathered from the manner you divide your monthly expenses, food is a large part…almost half (less $6.50)!! What is interesting to me as I work on our finances is….I can list all our expenses and create a monthly expense budget, but our actual cash flow is two times that amount (lately I’ve been tracking two ways)…so I’m trying to identify where the leaks (one-offs) and unnecessary spending (mindless wastes) are.

    • L...w Says:

      ie…what I think we should be spending, even based on previous year’s actual, is not realistic. There are always one-offs that just don’t get penciled in, thinking that expense won’t happen, but realistically other large unforseen expenses do. I am looking to identify what a realistic, minimal budget is and can we afford it on 2.75% drawn down and social security.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      David and I try not to withdraw from our savings. So far, I have been doing very well. I have been living on my income, not my savings.

      But, David spends a lot of money on himself, such as Netflix, Cable TV, 24 Hr Fitness, his car, etc. These are expenses that I don’t have (I never watch TV or movies on a daily basis like he does, and I never go to the gym). So, he is struggling to live solely on his income and needs to dip into his savings.

  9. L...w Says:

    Same here…hence the small draw down. Before the recession in 2008, I thought we could draw 5-6% comfortably, not any more. So it is either spend less or work longer.

  10. Linda Starr Says:

    I think that flower is called yesterday, today, and tomorrow because of the tree colors, white, light purple and dark purple.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Thanks for the tip!
      I googled Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow Flowers and was informed that the flowers start out purple, then change to lavender, and finally white.
      Interesting and fascinating!

  11. marmeladegypsy Says:

    This makes me smile. While we’re not so careful with the who-owes-what records, Rick is much the same and believes all the world can be organized by a data base! I’m less certain but I let him have is fun!

Leave a Reply

