A scary experience

Grandkids 035-A

My 4 year old grandson, Rylan. (Gigi’s photo, taken on June 14, 2014)

Friday night, I had a scary experience. I had gone to bed and was sleeping on my right side.  When I turned to lie on my back, I experienced excruciating pain.  My whole chest felt like it was on fire and I could hardly breathe due to a heavy pressure on my chest.  I thought I was having a heart attack.

I considered calling 911, but realized that nobody was home to answer the door, as David had gone to the gym. I was in no shape to get out of bed, and I believed I was going to die.

Die alone! At age 68. I was filled with sorrow.

I thought of my four year old grandson and regretted that I would not be present at his wedding. I wondered who he would choose as his spouse, one of the most important choices a man would ever make in his life.

I remembered the cute conversations I’d had with him during the times I babysat.

I wept quietly.

But, my great and enduring love for my sweet grandson brought me peace.  As I lay there, I felt all of my worries subside and so did my chest pain.

Though this whole experience lasted about fifteen minutes, it seemed like an eternity. After the pain disappeared, I fell asleep and woke up six hours later, feeling refreshed and perfectly normal.

Did my grandson save my life? Who knows?

Never underestimate the power of love.

30 Responses to “A scary experience”

  1. Joanne Says:

    And, please tell us you will visit a cardiologist as soon as you can.

  2. DJan Says:

    If you were having a transient ischemic attack (TIA), it would show up in blood work, Gigi. Best get yourself to the doctor to be sure. Please!

  3. Olga Says:

    Could have been just an anxiety attack and thinking of your grandson got you through. Best to have it checked though, because you don’t want it happening again.

  4. Hattie Says:

    Go to your doctor. Right now!

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    How very scary for you Gigi but I’m glad the thought of your grandson got you through the worst of the worry and left you with total peace. Also like a few others have mentioned I do hope you will get a check up.

  6. Tom Sightings Says:

    Hair-raising story … and I vote with the others, go have it checked out. Better safe than sorry, as my mother used to say.

  7. Christine Says:

    Gigi go to the doc,could be angina or stomach acid, anything…gas.

  8. L...w Says:

    I’m glad you are ok now….indeed that was scary. I do think you should at least call your doctor and see if a visit is in order. It could be a lot of things…maybe even heartburn as my doctor suggested to me when I had similar excruciating pressure and pain in my chest. I did not go to the emergency room or to the doctor right away. Months later when I mentioned this to him during a physical exam he said for one thing, you couldn’t do your treadmill exercises for 30 minutes if you had a heart attack. He suggested it could be the coffee I drank minutes before. I don’t have chronic heartburn, but I do have indigestion and lots of gas sometimes.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I saw my internist just 2-1/2 weeks ago, and she didn’t find anything wrong with my heart.
      So maybe it was GERD, after all. I take Prilosec for that.
      I am due for another check up with my internist in November.

  9. Jeanie Says:

    I agree with everyone that says you should go have the doctor check things out after something like that.

  10. Sylvia Thompson Says:

    Dear Glenda, Don’t wait another day. Go see a cardiologist asap. We’ve learned that for 1/3 of the people with heart incidents, the first symptom is death. Even fit ice skaters performing in a paid gig who were just checked over by their physicians and had passed a rigorous physical exam, has skated to their death mid-performance. That was definitely a heart attack. Sounds exactly what Pete underwent at Mokuleia 2 days after Thanksgiving. May I refer you to Dr. Kristofitch at Straub. He’s Pete’s new cardiologist for the past 8? years. While his former cardiologist had Pete on the lowest level of Lipitor, Dr. Kristofitch, a vegan, took him right off of it after looking at his physical exam results. Knowing Pete was a vegan, he understood the power of eating vegan while the other one would’ve kept him on the pill forever. Love you, and take care, Syl

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Hi Syl.

      I used to have chest pain when I jogged in 1982. My internist at Kaiser told me to stop jogging, because it was too stressful for me.

      Then, in 2000, I saw Dr. Kai, a cardiologist at Straub and told him about the pain I experienced in 1982. I underwent an EKG, an echocardiogram, a treadmill test, and nuclear medicine. Results of these tests: my heart is normal, no heart attack.

      Now it is 2014. Maybe, I should see Dr. Kristofitch, just to ask him why I experienced chest pain in bed — and I wasn’t jogging or exercising at all. Thanks for the tip.

  11. palolo Says:

    Maybe you were dreaming and had a nightmare about having a heart attack. Thank goodness Rylan saved you.

  12. dkzody Says:

    Glad you are feeling fine. Sounds like you had a serious case of indigestion. You really should get it checked out, though.

  13. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Just read all the previous comments to this post and it shows the concern all of us who read your posts have for a fellow blogger, Gigi. I do hope this was an isolated incident as at times, ai have also had unexplained pains which always go away when I delax and think pleasant thoughts.

  14. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I’m happy this was nothing more than a scare. You do need to see your doc, who will probably send you to a cardiologist for a complete checkup. I’ve had a heart attack, a stroke an several threatening experiences.

    I lost 40 pounds and have twenty more to go. Since the heart attack, I take three meds: a beta-blocker, calcium channel blocker, and ACE inhibitor, as well as a blood thinner and Lipator. I have never had a cholesterol problem, so I was miffed when told to take the latter.

    I’ve had several scares that fortunately came to nothing, but the weight loss probably made the difference. The other thing is to take some exercise regularly. It helps. Take care GiGi. You are no longer a spring chicken. {{hugs}}

  15. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Reading dkzody’s comment reminded me, I take two meds for leaky valves in my gut..one leaks stomach acid into my throat, the other leaks bile acid into my stomach. Both cause chest pain if they erupt. I stopped eating much meat because of this, and the tests I underwent lately were to help diagnose other issues.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      So, should I see an internist or a cardiologist, first?
      I already have an appointment to see my internist on Nov 24. Is that too late?

      • SchmidleysScribbling Says:

        See your Internist first. You may have a digestive disorder. He should refer you to a gastroenterologist, then a cardiologist. I am no doctor, but I would get checked out soon.

        With recurring symptoms, get to an emergency center. Both my heart attack and stroke were diagnosed in the emergency room. Both landed me in the hospital.

      • gigihawaii Says:

        Well, I already have a gastroenterologist, who is treating me for colitis.

    • dkzody Says:

      I have a friend with the leaky bile valve who can no longer eat red meat because of it. She becomes deathly ill if it happens. Took a long time to figure it out but now she is living a ‘normal’ life and doing quite well.

  16. Suzanne Says:

    How scary! Glad you feel better.

  17. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Read the article in today’s NYT on women’s heart attacks, very enlightening.

  18. Linda Starr Says:

    I hope you get your heart checked as your grandson brought you peace but best to be safe than sorry later on. a simple enzyme test will tell if you had a heart attack, they take blood and test it.

  19. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Gigi, I am glad you are feeling better but please — see the doc soon. Even if they say your heart was OK earlier, things happen and the cost of a doc appointment is nothing compared to the consequences of not being checked. There are VERY simple tests — blood, ekg, stress — that can indicate if there is a problem. And yes, check out that article in the NYTimes. Do not wait. Please.

    And thanks for being a faithful Marmelade Gypsy visitor — I haven’t been online as much as I wish and I have much to catch up on here.

Leave a Reply

