A senior moment

Hawaii: Neighbor’s plants (photo by Gigi):

neighbor's plants 001-A

Last week, David was shocked to see an “unauthorized” transaction on my credit card. The online statement said that I had charged $232 for an internet registration by the government.

We called and spoke to a representative at the credit card company. The representative agreed that the charge seemed fraudulent, so he said he would stop payment.

Well, a few days later, David had an epiphany (if you can call it that). The charge was legitimate.  He had charged my $232 car registration online, and the city government had already mailed me my car sticker and registration card.

Oh, my gosh! Would our complaint make my car registration null and void?

So, we again made a conference call to the credit card company and told them to allow the charged transaction to go through, as we had made a mistake.

After three representatives spoke to us and recorded our conference call, we were told we would receive confirmation in the mail.

“Don’t worry,” one rep told us. “This sort of thing happens all the time.  Customers complain about a fraudulent charge, and then they call us back to say it was legitimate.”

Whew!

That’s what happens when you age. David and I certainly had a senior moment, didn’t we?

16 Responses to “A senior moment”

  1. DJan Says:

    Oh, dear! These things do happen, but not usually because of something like your car registration. Glad it all worked out well in the end. 🙂

  2. Joanne Says:

    That happened to me once; I knew I had been in the restaurant with my granddaughter, but totally forgot we purchased a pie to take home as we left. At the last instant I remembered and the charge was reinstated. No pie in the face embarrassment, fortunately.

  3. Christine Says:

    This could happen to anyone, well it happens to me all the time.

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I did this before I became a senior. What do you call that?n

  5. Grannymar Says:

    How fortunate you were that the error was discovered and sorted before the cancellation went through.

  6. mageb Says:

    Oh yes,

  7. tom sightings Says:

    Hmmm, seems like that’s happened to me, except the credit card co.wouldn’t stop payment until I had double checked and they’d investigated … something like that. I forget!

  8. L....w Says:

    I know exactly the charge description you’re talking about because it stumps me every year. Why doesn’t the City use a better worded description?? It’s not David’s senior moment at all because I think everyone makes that error. Fortunately I catch myself before I call the credit card company!!

    • gigihawaii Says:

      This was the first time he charged my car registration online, so I guess that’s why he forgot.

      • L...w Says:

        I like to charge our utility bills online too and earn valuable credit card rewards in the process. The city also lets us charge our monthly water bill without a processing fee unlike HECO that does.

  9. Beatrice P. Boyd Says:

    Unfortunately, we have had some fraudulent charges on one of Our ceedit cards. It’s a real annoyance too because the card comoany cancelled the card and so any accounts connected to it had to be nitified until the replacement arrived with a new card number. Glad you were spared that hassle, Gigi.

Leave a Reply

