Future plans

plants Home Depot 003-A

Hawaii: Orchids at Home Depot (photo by Gigi).

I admire anybody who can grow and nurture orchids. Are you one of them?

On another note, we attended a legal seminar recently and were advised to renew our Power of Attorney every three years. The reason for this is that a very old Power of Attorney might not apply years later, and officials might be hesitant to obey such an old document.  At any rate, we should have our Last Will and Testament updated, too, so David and I plan to make an appointment with an attorney shortly.

And on October 1, we learned that HMSA, the state’s largest medical insurer, is canceling its Akamai Advantage plans for 46,000 seniors in Hawaii as of December 31. Apparently, HMSA lost $64 million due to high medical claims and decreased federal funding for Medicare patients.  We are looking for another Medicare Advantage plan, and will speak to a sales representative from Humana on Wednesday.  David and I are considering joining Humana because of its low premiums and co-payments.

Ever since September 26 when I thought I was dying of a heart attack, I have been much more cognizant of my own mortality. I won’t live forever.  Dad passed away of colon cancer at age 87, but Mom is still alive at 98 though she has dementia.  I am 68.  How much longer do I have?

21 Responses to “Future plans”

  1. Joanne Says:

    Don’t know how much longer we will live, but I do have an orchid that has bloomed three years in a row.

  2. Christine Says:

    thx for the power of attorney info, I passed this on to my sister as she has one for my mom from ages ago.

    Great to look after this stuff Gigi and I hope you live as long as your parents.

  3. DJan Says:

    To me, the length of my life is not as important as the quality of it. I was really surprised when I watched The Roosevelts to learn that Teddy was 60 when he died, and FDR only 63. But they sure did accomplish a great deal! 🙂

  4. Grannymar Says:

    Make plans, but LIVE in the moment and enjoy each day we are here. That is my mantra.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    All theMedicare Advantage plans were cancelled by Obamacare. David lost his too. Cuts to Medicare will continue as the federal government fully implements the ACA. All the rehetoric about cuts the Republicans want to make to Medicare ignore what the Dems already did. Ezekiel Emmanuel appeared on PBS two nights abo suggesting that seniors should stop receiving medical care at age 75. I cannot tell you how much this comment disturbed me. Emanuel is the architect of the ACA.

    • Juicy J Says:

      I know its difficult for the elderly, what with their diminished mental facilities and all, to distinguish fact from fiction but the Affordable Care Act did not “cancel” Medicare Advantage plans. The law seeks to close the gab between what Medicare pays private insurers and what the program pays for seniors under its traditional structure. And those proposed payment cuts haven’t taken place in two years! Ezekiel Emmanuel suggested that HE would stop receiving medical care at 75 not because of the cost, but because he personally would rather die than deal with the quality of life issues inherent with getting old.

      If you want to scare yourself that’s fine but at least have the common courtesy not to try and scare other people with your lies and false information.

      • SchmidleysScribbling Says:

        The more obnoxious parts of the ACA have NOT been fully implemented as you have noted. However, my 85-year old husband’s coverage which. Is an Advantage plan, or was, has been altered by the ACA and he is paying much more out-of-pocket expenses.

        I have traditional Medicare and it and my insurance together cover most of my expenses. Cuts are planned to Medicare, they will be implemented. Obviously as you are younger and not senile so you are not on Medicare.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    As for orchids, I have some forming buds for the second year…fingers crossed.

  7. tom sightings Says:

    I just received a notice of rate change for next year’s Medicare advantage plan — my payment is actually going DOWN by $2 a month. Not a lot, but better than the 10 – 20% increases of recent years. As for orchids? Not me; I do dandelions instead.

  8. Olga Says:

    This was a good reminder for me–I really, really need to update important papers like wills and advance directives.

  9. LC Says:

    No orchids here.

    We have Mutual of Omaha supplemental insurance. Seems to be working for us.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    We all have one day at a time.

  11. denise Says:

    I have to check into all this. Thanks for the reminder.

  12. Linda Starr Says:

    ah yes enjoy the flowers and relax, so glad you are going well, the test to test for a heart attack has to be done right away after the pain which checks certain enzymes to see if they are elevated, so glad you are getting checked out.

    my Gary had a painful episode and he thought it was a heart attack but it was gall bladder pain after he ate french fries and coco cola, he has never had either one again, must have been the greasy food and the carbonation in combination.

    but best to be safe rather than sorry.

  13. granny annie Says:

    Wow you have been a busy bee since I have been away from blogland. Lots of reading and commenting to catch up with. I am concerned about your healty since I have had an MI with two stents in 2003 and two more stents in 2012. Does your blood pressure run at 140/90 or above and is your cholesterol well above 200? If so, I would suggest you be more persistent with your doctor or even get a second opinion. If not, I would rest east and try not to be anxious because it is the greatest threat. Bless your heart.

  14. marmeladegypsy Says:

    I think all of us as a certain age begin to worry about that. I know I cherish every day all the more knowing that even in the best of all possible worlds there are fewer of them each day.

Leave a Reply

